Two Tier Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
My in law family just loved this pie, I added brushed melted chocolate to the bottom crust like someone suggested. I didn't like the way it set up, it seemed to soft, but it didn't run at least. Next time I will forget the chocolate (I never liked chocolate covered strawberries so I don't know why I would like it in a pie, but I tried) I give it 3 stars for the family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKTERT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kodiak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
Imake a pie very similar but instead of the syrup on top I place the strawberries over the cream cheese mixture then melt 1/2 c choc chips with 2 T shortening then dizzle over the strawberries. It combines the choc dipped strawberries with the strawberry pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
Awesome! Love it sooooo easy to make and delicious, I had to make a second one because the first one was gone before I was able to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
This was my first attempt at making a fruit pie.Thinking we'd make a day of it, we headed to a u-pick it strawberry farm only to find that they only had Olallieberries available. We made a game time decision to go with it and I'm so glad we did. The slight tartness of the olallieberries cut the sweetness of other elements of the pie. I really liked the homemade "syrup" for glazing the berries as opposed to other recipes which call for jello. The glaze was gorgeous on the berries and flavor was just right. The cream and cheese layer was really really nice. In fact, I might make that combo again to serve with fresh berries. It was light and yet had substance against the berries without being overly sweet. I also out a graham cracker crust for the traditional. Not only was this a supremely delicious pie, it was really stunning. My friend and I agreed that this would be an impressive dessert to bring to a dinner party or to a new neighbor. In terms of execution of the recipe, there about 4 major steps or segments of combining ingredients and letting things cool. This definitely took a while 3-1/2 hours or so but it wasn't difficult baking. I don't think you need any special skills. We had a 4 year old helping us and the ingredient combos didn't involve any risky ingredients so she was able to taste test, learn and help right with us. I highly recommend this recipe when you have the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Superbia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
I LOVE the cream cheese mixture on the bottom. It;s soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toni Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
The cream cheese layer was fantastic! The almond extract gave it great flavor. However, the glaze for the strawberries was way to sweet. I just made it without and it was really good. I used a Nilla Wafer pie crust which worked really well with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
Very good recipe. I substituted juice from marachino cherries, and turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
Been looking for a long lost Strawberry pie recipe, and this is the closest. This was wonderful and fairly easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Geri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rocklin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
WOW!!! This pie was awesome. I took it to work and shared with co-workers. It was gone in no time. I had never heard of grenadine syrup before. It really added a great taste to the strawberry topping. I failed to make sure I had all the ingredients before I started. I didn't have any heavy cream. I substituted it with about 3/4 of a small container cool whip. It turned out great. The other thing I did - I melted some semi-sweet chocolate and brushed it on the pie crust then refrigerated until chocolate was set. After that I put the cream cheese filling in the pie shell. (I read about someone doing that in another recipe so I thought it would be a great touch to this pie and it definitely did.) It kind of gave you the feeling you were eating chocolate dipped strawberries. I will share this with many and probably be making it soon again. I wish I could put more than 5 stars because to me it should have 10 stars. Thank you Julie for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
I thought this was really good - however, maybe I did something wrong, but the cream cheese whipped cream mixture was not dense enough to support the berries. I think I will reverse the order next time, and put the berries in the base and top with the cream. The taste was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gigidoll74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alhambra, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States