Two Tier Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
Have made this recipe twice now and it have yet to have any left after about 10 mins. Even after having 2 pies ready to go the last time. The only change i made was to cut back grenadine as the flavor was a touch much for my taste the first time. Thank you for a great pie will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
This was "okay", but I'm not gonna make again. The grenadine was too much for me & overtook the whole flavor. Not good as a leftover, it separated & the strawberries looked mushy. I liked the idea of this, but did not care for the result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
REALLY GOOD!!!! It taste great and looks like you've spent a long time on it. I also tried it with fresh bluberries, and lemon gelatin mixture, WOW!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANET

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA
Living In: Jupiter, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
this is great, i did use a whole 8oz brick of cream cheese and doubled the sugar. Used 3/4 of a small cool whip. It was wonderful! I thought I wouldn't have enough room on top for the strawberries but it worked out fine. I also cheated and used some store bought glaze and it tasted great. One last thing: if you want it to taste like a PIE use pie crust. A graham cracker crust tastes good too but then it is basically a no bake cheesecake. This is just like what I had at Bob Evans last week and I was trying to duplicate it so thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
Great Pie! Since I love cream cheese, I increased the amount to 6oz. And I didn't have any grenadine, I added half of a small box of strawberry jello. I served it at a summer cookout and took one to our neighbors and everyone wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
My in law family just loved this pie, I added brushed melted chocolate to the bottom crust like someone suggested. I didn't like the way it set up, it seemed to soft, but it didn't run at least. Next time I will forget the chocolate (I never liked chocolate covered strawberries so I don't know why I would like it in a pie, but I tried) I give it 3 stars for the family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKTERT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kodiak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
Imake a pie very similar but instead of the syrup on top I place the strawberries over the cream cheese mixture then melt 1/2 c choc chips with 2 T shortening then dizzle over the strawberries. It combines the choc dipped strawberries with the strawberry pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
Awesome! Love it sooooo easy to make and delicious, I had to make a second one because the first one was gone before I was able to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
This was my first attempt at making a fruit pie.Thinking we'd make a day of it, we headed to a u-pick it strawberry farm only to find that they only had Olallieberries available. We made a game time decision to go with it and I'm so glad we did. The slight tartness of the olallieberries cut the sweetness of other elements of the pie. I really liked the homemade "syrup" for glazing the berries as opposed to other recipes which call for jello. The glaze was gorgeous on the berries and flavor was just right. The cream and cheese layer was really really nice. In fact, I might make that combo again to serve with fresh berries. It was light and yet had substance against the berries without being overly sweet. I also out a graham cracker crust for the traditional. Not only was this a supremely delicious pie, it was really stunning. My friend and I agreed that this would be an impressive dessert to bring to a dinner party or to a new neighbor. In terms of execution of the recipe, there about 4 major steps or segments of combining ingredients and letting things cool. This definitely took a while 3-1/2 hours or so but it wasn't difficult baking. I don't think you need any special skills. We had a 4 year old helping us and the ingredient combos didn't involve any risky ingredients so she was able to taste test, learn and help right with us. I highly recommend this recipe when you have the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Superbia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
I LOVE the cream cheese mixture on the bottom. It;s soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toni Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States