Two Ingredient Pumpkin Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I used spice cake mix, canned pumpkin, added one egg, 1/4 c water (to clean pumpkin can, dumped in 1/3 cup or so of cinnamon applesauce I had in the fridge. Put them in the Kitchen Aid and mixed them for about 3 minutes. I think these are the bomb! Super light and delicious! I mixed up a little glaze but they don't need it. Will definitely be trying this with other cake flavors soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I have to admit I was skeptical about this recipe. But, I decided to try it anyway. The only extra ingredient I added was 1/2 cup of water, based on some of the other reviews I read. I was very impressed with this cake! It was moist and delicious and will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Center Line, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
We've made this many times, EXACTLY, and loved it. I don't understand how people can honestly rate this when they've changed the recipe to the point of it being unrecognizable from the original. It does not need eggs, or sugar, or cream. We've used the recipe to make cookies, cake, and cupcakes/muffins (my daughter's favorite). Lately we've been using yellow cake mix, as it's better received in my house of picky eaters, and we sometimes throw in chocolate chips. Lower fat than other cakes, much higher in fiber, and very, very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by itsmemaggi
Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Tried two variations on this recipe yesterday, for a local bake sale today. Both results were excellent! Two staples in my pantry are canned pumpkin PIE filling for quick desserts, and canned solid pumpkin. The recipe using the PIE filling was wet enough, the eggs weren’t required. The cake was moist and delicious, a definite keeper recipe. The other recipe using straight canned pumpkin with the suggested two extra eggs, using yellow cake mix (didn’t have a second box of spiced on hand), adding 1 teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice, and made wonderful cupcakes. I love these quick desserts using pantry staples. Great recipes; thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnInVa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
READING THE OTHER REVIEWS FIRST i made this. i did add 2 eggs, a little vanilla, a dash of cinnamon. THEN (i know, i really embellished it) added chocolate chips. baked at 350 for about 37 min. gosh!it tastes like a yummy chocolate chip cookie/ cake. thanks for a great recipe and all the helpful reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Garner Sullivan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ozark, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Yummy and easy! Added a little water but no eggs or oil. That would defeat the purpose of a low fat option. Made this in a muffin tin. Came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dixedreg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
This is great when made with a chocolate cake mix. I made them into cupcakes. They turned out moist and perfect, and best of all - each one is only 2 points on the WW point plan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I only had a yellow cake mix, so I used that, and I added about 1/2 tsp. Chinese 5-Spice Powder, which made it really tasty. My pumpkin was from fresh that I had cooked and pureed last year, so I didn't measure it exactly, but I am guessing it was about 2-2 1/2 cups. It was also thinner than canned pumpkin, so it mixed easily. I also added some ground flaxseed for fiber, and it was really, really good! Both ingredients were easy to stir in, so it was almost as easy as just two ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Love this recipe...I did make it again with a few changes that I thought made it exceptional! I used the Duncan Hines golden yellow cake mix, added pumpkin pie spice to taste, and 2 tablespoons of melted butter (it looked thick and I thought it needed to thin out a bit). Turns out the butter made it extremely moist and this is now my family's FAVORITE pumpkin dessert of ALL TIME!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I didn't know how to rate this because I did not make the recipe as written. After I added other ingredience, I would give it a 4.5. I didn't have spice cake, so I used a yellow cake mix. I added 2 jumbo eggs, about 1 tsp cinnamon, about 1 tsp nutmeg, about a cup of chocolate chips, splash of water and about 1/4 cup of sugar. I buttered a bundt pan and cooked it at 350 for about 45 minutes. It came out perfect and was delicious. This is a great base recipe that can be changed up in so many ways and you don't have to measure anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dracut, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 334) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States