Two Ingredient Pumpkin Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
I gave this 5 stars after taking the advice of others to add three eggs. I also added 1/2 cup of apple sauce, pumpkin pie spice and cinamon. When cooled, I topped with cream cheese frosting from this site. I know this is a variation from the original 2 ingredients but I wanted to let everyone know how fabulous it turned out. I regularly cook for our extended family - up to 21 people (we take turns making dinner every night) - and EVERYONE thought this was to die for! I use baking for my mental therapy and this was one of my more rewarding quick fixes. Hope you'll try my suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
950 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
Maybe this should be called "Three Ingredient Pumpkin Cake!" After reading all of the other reviews, I figured this many people can't be wrong so I added two eggs to the batter. That's the only ingredient change I made to the recipe and it turned out great. I didn't have the problem that some other reviewers mentioned about the batter being so difficult to mix. I used my very powerful stand mixer and it was blended in a snap. I baked it in a bundt pan for 30 minutes, which was adequate, although next time I might add 5 more minutes. I took it to a ladies Bible study and there were no leftovers. I didn't frost it, but I think I will make a cream cheese frosting next time ... and there will be a next time. It's just too easy and too good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
468 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
This recipe is better made as COOKIES! No eggs needed--mix the cake mix and pumpkin, add some chocolate chips if desired, and scoop onto cookie sheets!! Cook about 14-16 minutes, or until toothpick comes out clean. Super easy, and SO GOOD! Better than store bought pumpkin chocolate chips cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
435 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
I used yellow butter cake mix with a few shakes of pumpkin pie spice mixed in then the canned pumpkin. So what if the mixture is thick? I know it seems weird but it's supposed to be thick. It's still workable. You are only mixing to the point of combining the mix & pumpkin together so you shouldn't be working yourself into a sweat over it! It's not that difficult. The point of this recipe is to save fat & calories! I used cream cheese frosting with a few shakes of pumpkin pie spice mixed it. Super yummy & super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
194 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seneca Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
I loved this cake. I didn't change a thing, didn't add a thing and it turned out very moist and tasty - I didn't even add frosting. Best of all, it's low-fat, low-calorie, vegetarian-friendly and just really really good. I've heard this works well with chocolate cake mix, too...I'll have to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by copetenn
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Five stars because of both simplicity and flavor. Have synthesized the various suggestions here to nail it down spot on. To the base cake, simply adding two eggs and 1/4 cup of sugar causes the cake to bake into a nice 'dome' shape as most cakes do in a 13 x 9 pan (30 minutes at 350 degrees F). The cake is enhanced by a super simple glaze: 1/4 cup confectioners sugar, 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg, 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon and 2 Tablespoons milk. Blend and pour over warm cake. Finally, if you want to take it over the top, put a dollop of whipped cream then a sprinkle of pumpkin pie spice to cap it off and you're there. Incredibly simple and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by copetenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coppell, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
There are a few reasons why I gave this only 3 stars. The taste of the cake was just ordinary, nothing special. The cake batter was very, very difficult to work with. The recipe said to spread evenly in the 9x13 pan but this batter was like spreading thick peanut butter in a pan that has been greased. It stuck to the spatula much more than it did to the dish. When I would move the spatula the batter literally came out of the dish. And however you make it look when you put it in the oven is exactly how it will look when it comes out. So, needless to say, it is not a pretty presentation. The cake does not puff up and even out at all. It is almost impossible to spread this evenly and get a smooth surface and when it is done baking it really shows. It can be covered up with frosting however. So while the ingredients make this cake appear very quick and easy the prep work takes up much more time than anticipated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
After reading the reviews I also decided to add 1/4 cup of sugar, 2 eggs and some canned cream till it was a little easier to spread. It was fanastic!! I love this recipe. I decided to use a jelly roll pan and make bars, topped it with cream cheese icing, and then poured carmel topping over it, all I can say is YUMMY!! I took it to work and it was gone within 5 minutes. I was trying to reproduce a recipe from a place called the Bread Basket. This was even better than theirs, :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
Very moist and great flavor! I added 1/4 sugar for a little extra sweetness, and also two eggs, as suggested by other reviews. I added 1/4 cup of canned milk, just to make it easier for me to spread it in my "homemade" bundt pan. I used a glaze found on this site with another recipe (Harvest cake) and everyone thought the cake was delicious still warm with whipped topping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millboro, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
Yum! I made this tonight after hearing about it from a friend. It was so easy and tastes great. I added about 1/2 cup of water to thin out the batter. I will make this again and again for the holiday's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 359) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States