Two Ingredient Pumpkin Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Just eating it now :-) All my guests loved it and either had seconds or took a piece home. Took the advice of others and added 2 eggs, 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce, 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice, 1/2 tsp cinnamon. I put half the batter in a bundt pan, then sprinkled with chopped walnuts and brown sugar. Topped with remaining batter and cooked at 350o for about 55 min. Iced with Betty Crocker cream cheese frosting which I watered down with skim milk and whisked to make fluffy and cut down on the sweetness. I was going to sprinkle walnuts on top and then said to my hubby - should I toast them? He said, "No, give them to me". He sauteed them in butter, brown sugar and cinnamon. We let them cool then decorated the top with them. They were too gooey to sprinkle but I spooned them in a ring around the top and they were yummy.) Maybe I will put those in the middle next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
You can't get any easier than this. I used a devil's food cake mix. It tastes almost like brownies as it's very dense. I've made these in the past in miniature muffin tins lined with mini cupcake papers. I piped on a dollop of whipped cream and sprinkled lightly with cinnamon. Makes a very pretty little dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
First of all, this is a great recipe. I heard about it at weight watchers last night. Use a can of pumpkin to any cake mix for a much lower fat/calorie treat. I portioned them out and baked them as cookies, which worked great. I added ~1/4 cup applesauce to make the batter more workable. This also helps them rise a bit and and makes the cake less dense overall. If you want a super rich cake this isn't it...misses the point and Allrecipes has some killer rich and fatty cake recipes. The magic in this combo is that it is a really delish way to make a treat that is considerably more healthy than most cakes (compare the nutrition facts to other cake recipes on here). I made it with devils food cake and loved the results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Emergency Situation! No eggs in the house and dd needed a snack for a field trip she failed to tell us about til too late to go to the store. SO I used a vanilla mix and bananas rather than the pumpkin and added some cinnamon. I wasn't overly hopeful but it turned out great! I poked holes and added some powdered sugar glaze while it was still hot. Really yummy and my daughter thinks I am all that! Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmydeshon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Love this recipe! Didn't add anything. First time I used Cream Cheese Frosting, second time Cool Whip. For Christmas I substituted a can of Apple Pie filling. You need to cut up the apples to make them smaller. Mix the two ingredients together and bake the same as the Pumpkin cake. I sprayed Pam in the Bunt pan then put halved pecans in the pan, sprinkled cinnamon into pan, spooned in the cake batter, sprinkled on more cinnamon and baked. After it cooled, sifted confectionary sugar on top. Tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
My family felt these` were a bit too dense and bland, so I added 2 eggs and 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice. I baked them as muffins/cupcakes and they loved them without icing. Perfect for breakfast or a snack or in a gift basket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
really great. used for a birthday cake at thanksgiving time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ringgold, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I did as another reviewer suggested and added chocolate chips to make cookies. The end product was different than regular cookies... But considering they were super easy and contained no butter, oil, or eggs (other than what was in the mix), they were great! My kids loved them and asked me to add them to my regular recipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vidor, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
This was a 2nd attempt at this cake. The 1st time I made this, I totally thought I'm NOT going to try this again. Because it was so heavy and dense in the bundt pan...that when it cooled off, the cake split in half and not all of it came out of the pan and dumped everywhere. I was very disappointed. So nearly a year later, I thought about it again and figured, I'd try again. So, with that in mind...different results, and I now understand what happened. While others have success with making their's in bundt, it was way way to dense and it doesn't rise very much...matter fact very little. I ended up using a 8x10 perfect brownie pan..without the brownie insert, and it worked out very well. The cake was very moist, and still lightly dense, but it cooked through all the way, so I can't complain on that. It sure wasn't the prettiest cake at the ball coming out of the oven. So I just used a biscuit cutter and stacked little mini cakes onto a plate with leftover buttercream frosting and called it a day. I'll make again just as I did the 2nd time. But never put it in a bundt pan. The smaller the baking pan, the better success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I made in to cup cakes, and added 2 eggs like others said. Along with a tiny bit of extra spices and a thrown together cream cheese icing they were the best. Moist and amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Mini Pumpkin Cheesecakes

See a few time-saving tricks for making easy mini pumpkin cheesecakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States