Two Ingredient Pumpkin Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by tea ali
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I didn't have spice cake mix, so I used yellow cake mix and added nutmeg, cinnamon, and ginger. Also followed the suggestion to add two eggs. Baked in a tube pan for about an hour. Drizzled with a glaze made with confectioners sugar, and a little butter and milk. Turned out tasty and moist, and not too sweet...just the way I like it. I also liked that the thick batter gave the cake a 'rough' surface, which I think makes cakes and breads look more home made. 5 stars for how quick, easy, and tasty this recipe is. Too simple not to make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Added 2 eggs, and 1/2 c. Applesauce. Turned out awesome! My husband loves it. Turned out moist, which is hard in Colorado
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
After reading reviews, I added 2 eggs, half a cup of applesauce, and I used pumpkin pie mix instead of just pumpkin - because it's what I had. I wanted to take a moment to thank you for this recipe. My family and I are living strictly off donations from a food pantry. We often get unusual ingredients and don't know what to do with them.... but no food can go to waste, everything has to get used. So many recipes have ingredients that we just don't have, or have access to. This recipe is two ingredients. Nothing fancy. If you have more, you can do more, but the base recipe will work. I have a family Christmas party to go to today, and thought I'd have to go empty handed. This recipe allowed me to make SOMETHING so I could celebrate, too, and not hang my head in shame. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe and giving me dignity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Very good and easy! I made them into cupcakes (made 18) and they were very moist. They came out exactly like I wanted. All I did different was add a teaspoon of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
This was great. Very moist and delicious. I did follow some of the recommendations and added an egg. Very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I thought this was terrible - cake was doughy and heavy. I'm sorry I wasted my pumpkin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I made this for Thanksgiving, but because my husband is diabetic, I used a sugar-free yellow cake mix; added a teaspoon and a half of cinnamon. I spread it out thin, hoping to make a roll, but it wouldn't roll without breaking, so I made thin layers, and made an icing of cream cheese, sugar-free cool whip; and stevia to taste. It was so good, my son ate it, and he never eats his dad's sugar-free desserts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
LOVE this recipe. My son is allergic to everything and have been making his cakes with soda, but he would always complain that they were crumbly. Not with this recipe! I add some pumpkin spice, nutmeg and cinnamon and I did a 2 egg substitute and it was moist and delicious! So excited to have a solve - will be trying other combinations of maybe chocolate box cake with beets or peaches or something! Thank you tons!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey Antonio

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Wow! This was super easy! I made mine into mini muffins for the office and were a hit! I read several of the comments so added a cup of apple sauce but in the end they came out a little too moist, so I will stick with the two ingredients next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Ive done this recipe many times.But Ive always done cupcakes, and added cinnamon chips. Some I even put a glaze on top. Its always been very good for and fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 365) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States