Two Ingredient Pumpkin Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 10, 2011
This cake turned out Fantastic! I used Pecan Cake mix, sifted. Added 1/2 cup sugar 2 eggs, maple extract and pumpkin pie filling. I used the whole can which is more than 15 oz baked as instructed adding 15 minutes. For icing I used the base from Chocolate Cherry Cake III and instead of adding the chocolate chips I left as is and poured on the cake. It doesnt cover up any uglies but the top of the cake looked simple and homey. This would make an excellent substitute for pumpkin pie at thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sauble Beach, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
No milk? No eggs? No problem! It is great as is, moist and great tasting, whether I use a spice cake mix or yellow cake mix. I will sometimes add 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon, 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg, 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger, and 1/8 teaspoon ground cloves so that it tastes like pumpkin pie. Yeah, it is impossible to spread it perfectly evenly, so it is not pretty, but that will not matter if you top it with whipped cream or vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I used a "No Name" Spice Cake Mix and found it to be kinda bitter tasting and not really very good. I will try it again with a name brand and see how it goes. Will leave another rating then. I also added 2 eggs and a cup of chopped pecans. No doubt I will finish them up but I'm not eager to give them to anyone else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MANORBOOKS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
simple and easy. Tasted pretty good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by recoveringkerr
Living In: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Very easy and tasty. Could use a little more moistness in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bowhead

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I would not add anything - because I make it this way to keep it low in Fat/Calories for Weightwatchers. Of course it tastes better with more eggs and sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marne, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dewitt, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
You add a cup of water too. This should solve the thickness problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
If you're watching calories and fat, this recipe is PERFECT as is--VERY moist and dense. The added bonus is getting a serving of vegetables into picky eaters :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Very quick and easy. I did add pumpkin pie spice and 2 eggs. I added walnuts too but those ended up being a little overwhelming (my own fault) drizzled with vanilla glaze. I will probably make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrabbApple

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I made this as muffins/cupcakes exactly as written, except used a devil's food cake mix because that's what I had on hand. I LOVED THEM - and so did my picky daughter who has a major sweet tooth. This makes a great healthier replacement for fatty cake recipes and I will make it over and over. This weekend I will go get a spice cake mix and see how that one turns out! UPDATE: I've now made it with spice cake mix and carrot cake mix and both are WONDERFUL! I do it in muffin tins and send them to school with my kids and to work to share. Everyone LOVES them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MayberryGal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Mini Pumpkin Cheesecakes

See a few time-saving tricks for making easy mini pumpkin cheesecakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States