Two Ingredient Pumpkin Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
This was a 2nd attempt at this cake. The 1st time I made this, I totally thought I'm NOT going to try this again. Because it was so heavy and dense in the bundt pan...that when it cooled off, the cake split in half and not all of it came out of the pan and dumped everywhere. I was very disappointed. So nearly a year later, I thought about it again and figured, I'd try again. So, with that in mind...different results, and I now understand what happened. While others have success with making their's in bundt, it was way way to dense and it doesn't rise very much...matter fact very little. I ended up using a 8x10 perfect brownie pan..without the brownie insert, and it worked out very well. The cake was very moist, and still lightly dense, but it cooked through all the way, so I can't complain on that. It sure wasn't the prettiest cake at the ball coming out of the oven. So I just used a biscuit cutter and stacked little mini cakes onto a plate with leftover buttercream frosting and called it a day. I'll make again just as I did the 2nd time. But never put it in a bundt pan. The smaller the baking pan, the better success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I made in to cup cakes, and added 2 eggs like others said. Along with a tiny bit of extra spices and a thrown together cream cheese icing they were the best. Moist and amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I made "as is" and it turned out great. Very moist!!! And no one in our family could even tell it was made differently than what it says on the package directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynJudd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I added 2 Egg's & made 24 Cupcakes. They where Great!!Very Moist & A Great Flavor!!! Will make these every Thanksgiving!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patsy Castillo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This recipe is perfect as is. I made these into cupcakes for Thanksgiving and frosted a few with Cream Cheese frosting, but trying them the next day, I like them better without the frosting and they're even more moist. Why add extra calories? This is a great recipe and one I'll definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Great base, I agree with everyone else, add 3 eggs but if you want to makr it a great Hoilday cake add: the 3 eggs, 1/2 cup sugar, 2 tsp cinnamon,1 tsp. pumpkin spice, 1/2 cup rasins, 1 cup coconut, and a small can of crushed pineapple slightly drained add to prepared pan. Cook 45 to 55 min. in a tube pan or bundt pan, or until toothpick comes out clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I used Betty Crocker spice cake mix, the 15oz can of pumpkin, but I added 2 eggs,1/4 cup of oil and 3/4 cup of water. Sprayed the pan with Pam. The cake came out great didn't stick to pans or mini bunt pan,super moist and so light. This was great will continue to make, especially when DD stops serving pumpkin muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I messed up and used a large can of pumpkin, so I added brown sugar and cinnamon. I also added 3 eggs. Even though I "messed up" everyone at my party loved the cake. They all wanted my recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
This recipe couldn't be any easier. I listened to the others advise and added 3 eggs and threw everything in my Kitchen Aid mixer. I took half of it to work and the guys all loved it. Everyone at home thought it was awesome. Very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeeAnnetteJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Photo by gammaray (=
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I really liked this - and my co-workers did, too. I couldn't find a spice cake mix, nor could I see my pumpkin pie spice (which was right in front of me!) - so I used a yellow cake mix and added 2 tsp cinnamon. I also added some chopped pecans (maybe ~3/4 cup - but I didn't measure, just dumped in what was left in my bag). I frosted it with Cream Cheese Frosting II, from this site. I don't think it needed the frosting. I am going to try it unfrosted next time, or maybe try it with Cool Whipped Frosting - also from this site. It was very a very moist cake (=
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gammaray (=

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 364) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States