Two Ingredient Pumpkin Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Loved it! I added two eggs, two tablespoons of butter and half bag of Nestle mini chocolate chips. My first time doing this, I opted for cupcakes. Impressed and ready to do it again and to experiment. Like with applesauce instead of pumpkin. Or with carrot cake mix. These little muffins remind me of something I used to make (long ago) with a starter that grew in the refrigerator. That had to be fed and baked every (?) ten days. This is much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Quick and easy (and very cheap to make)! Tastes pretty good. Did not try with frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
After reading the reviews, I just have to say, try this recipe 'as is.' I did not add anything other than pumpkin and cake mix, and it was delicious! The cake mix has plenty of sugar, and adding eggs just adds more calories. It's a little tough to mix, and spread in the cake pan yes, but it doesn't need any extras. I made it in a 9x13 inch pan, and it would probably be easier to make it in a bundt pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cyndi
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Really easy and pretty tasty too. I added mini cinnamon chips, no frosting. Very moist-kids are eating the left overs for breakfast :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Just eating it now :-) All my guests loved it and either had seconds or took a piece home. Took the advice of others and added 2 eggs, 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce, 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice, 1/2 tsp cinnamon. I put half the batter in a bundt pan, then sprinkled with chopped walnuts and brown sugar. Topped with remaining batter and cooked at 350o for about 55 min. Iced with Betty Crocker cream cheese frosting which I watered down with skim milk and whisked to make fluffy and cut down on the sweetness. I was going to sprinkle walnuts on top and then said to my hubby - should I toast them? He said, "No, give them to me". He sauteed them in butter, brown sugar and cinnamon. We let them cool then decorated the top with them. They were too gooey to sprinkle but I spooned them in a ring around the top and they were yummy.) Maybe I will put those in the middle next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
You can't get any easier than this. I used a devil's food cake mix. It tastes almost like brownies as it's very dense. I've made these in the past in miniature muffin tins lined with mini cupcake papers. I piped on a dollop of whipped cream and sprinkled lightly with cinnamon. Makes a very pretty little dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
First of all, this is a great recipe. I heard about it at weight watchers last night. Use a can of pumpkin to any cake mix for a much lower fat/calorie treat. I portioned them out and baked them as cookies, which worked great. I added ~1/4 cup applesauce to make the batter more workable. This also helps them rise a bit and and makes the cake less dense overall. If you want a super rich cake this isn't it...misses the point and Allrecipes has some killer rich and fatty cake recipes. The magic in this combo is that it is a really delish way to make a treat that is considerably more healthy than most cakes (compare the nutrition facts to other cake recipes on here). I made it with devils food cake and loved the results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Emergency Situation! No eggs in the house and dd needed a snack for a field trip she failed to tell us about til too late to go to the store. SO I used a vanilla mix and bananas rather than the pumpkin and added some cinnamon. I wasn't overly hopeful but it turned out great! I poked holes and added some powdered sugar glaze while it was still hot. Really yummy and my daughter thinks I am all that! Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmydeshon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Love this recipe! Didn't add anything. First time I used Cream Cheese Frosting, second time Cool Whip. For Christmas I substituted a can of Apple Pie filling. You need to cut up the apples to make them smaller. Mix the two ingredients together and bake the same as the Pumpkin cake. I sprayed Pam in the Bunt pan then put halved pecans in the pan, sprinkled cinnamon into pan, spooned in the cake batter, sprinkled on more cinnamon and baked. After it cooled, sifted confectionary sugar on top. Tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
My family felt these` were a bit too dense and bland, so I added 2 eggs and 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice. I baked them as muffins/cupcakes and they loved them without icing. Perfect for breakfast or a snack or in a gift basket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 366) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States