Two Bowl Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Made this for my daughter's birthday. We had a guest who can't have dairy. Instead of cocoa I added chopped fresh strawberries and a box of strawberry jello mix. I frosted it with a simple powdered sugar frosting. It was amazing. We will make this cake often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
This is probably the tastiest, easiest egg free cake I've made. I used this recipe for cupcakes for my nephew's birthday party and they were a hit with all the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by divamom74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stone Mountain, Georgia, USA
Living In: Commerce, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
This recipe is FANTASTIC. So easy, simple and it is probably the most moist cake I've ever had. I am on a strict Vegan diet due to my daughters severe allergies to milk and soy protein and this is the first sweets I have had in half a year! Wonderful! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Absolutely delicious cake, surprisingly good as I haven't had much luck with most eggless baked goods. I added an extra tablespoon of cocoa powder b/c I wanted something extra chocolately, but otherwise I followed the recipe. It took 35 minutes at 350 in my oven and came out moist and flavorful. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
I followed the directions exactly and was amazed that a dairy and egg free cake could be so moist. I recently discovered I am allergic to anything and everything that comes from milk. I half heartedly tried this recipe expecting it to be horrible despite the reviews since I am new at eating dairy free. I assumed my taste buds hadn't adjusted yet but this cake was amazing. I served it to my in-laws and they didn't believe it was dairy and egg free since it was so moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
This is a very forgiving recipe. I used substitutions (grape seed oil & apple cider vinegar) and realized later I forgot the vanilla extract. However, even with my mistake and substitutions the cake turned out moist and chocolately. My boyfriend loved it and he's not a fan of chocolate cake. I want to make it again with lemon as suggested and also with orange. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GoodyBrook
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Even in greased rounds, this moist cake was difficult to remove. I ended up prying it out with a spatula and covering the broken parts with thick frosting. I omitted the cocoa, following another reviewer's advice and substituted it with cornstarch. I SHOULD have added more than the 1 T vanilla that the recipe called for because the flavor was rather uninspired. (But this was my fault and not the original recipe's). Using all-purpose white flour, the top of one of my rounds fell, and both of them peaked quite dramatically using the temp the recipe called for. Super moist cake, but a bit too dense for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
the best cake ever!!! I did add more coca to make it almost 1 cup. I love how easy and simply this recipe is to make. Everyone that has tried is amazed how good it is. It is definitely a keeper! I have made this 2 weeks in a row and am easily spoiling my husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Five stars for a dairy free cake! My brother has a milk allergy, so I made this for him this weekend. I did substitute 1 c. dark brown sugar for a 1 c. of white. It turned out very moist and also had a nice texture. He wants the recipe so I think it was a hit for someone that usually misses out on chocolate cake! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Delicious! I have made this twice in the last week - once as a cake, then as cupcakes. I used cream cheese frosting both times, adding coconut into the frosting on the cupcakes for a beach-themed party. Both times well-received! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States