Twisted Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2013
Totally amazing! Subbed in Vegan ingredients. Cashew Alfredo sauce instead of Cream of Mushroom soup, and a few dollops of Tofutti sour cream. Topped with organic butter crackers mixed with melted Earth Balance and Daiya shredded cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
This was a good starter recipe but I made some changes. I omitted the corn, added 1/2 the sour cream, used cream of celery, added 1/4 cup of mayo, used frozen green beans, added a bit of milk to the mixture, and mixed the cheese into the sauce. I also used crushed goldfish on top. Super yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PinkStar412

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
A wonderful surprise addition to this years holiday meals. Even my DH who hates green bean casserole with a passion asked for seconds. The tang of the sour cream gives it a nice little "punch" of flavor. I'll be adding it to more of our holiday meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deidre522

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This was a huge hit here. Everyone remarked how well they liked this dish. I used french cut green beans, canned corn and a blend of sharp cheddar and monteray jack cheese. My only addition was some freshly ground black pepper. Very good dish. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Sorry, I just didn't think this was good. I'll stick to the regular old green bean casserole next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
It was okay at first. I did read other reviews and I was told to half the sourcream and I did. However, the cream was still too much compared to the vegetables. So I ended up adding another can of green beans and corn to make it up, and THAT way it was DELICIOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
This recipe is WONDERFUL! True comfort food. The only thing I do differently is I use French Fried onions instead of the cracker crumbs. YUMMO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
We didn't like this at all. I used frozen beans and only 1 cup of sour cream. We don't like canned veggies so I don't think it would have been to our liking had I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Pickering, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
The idea was great but the sour cream was too much. It was too sloppy in my opinion and everyone said that all they could taste was the sour cream. I also felt it needed a little bit more flavor, like salt and pepper. But I would be willing to try it again just way less sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
This was just OK. We liked it with the corn, but it was missing something. Salt and pepper helped. I'll probably combine ideas from other similar recipes and try it again with the changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hudson's Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Rowlett, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States