Twinkie® Weiner Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
A clever sandwich for a clever man. My husband really likes to eat these, not everyday, more like once every leapyear, he says they are a cured meat sensation. He tried to get me to take a bite, but the smell of the processed cheese squirt, made my stomach gurgle in a very unpleasant way. While slicing the twinkie in half to make a bun for the weiner is the traditional manner of making these I think cutting the the weiner and twinkies into bite size pieces and skewering them on a bamboo stick (twinkie wiener kebab, anyone?) could really uplevel this treat. You could plan a fun UHF party around these, also add in a wheel of fish (sushi rice krispie treats), flying poodle cookies, ghandi's steak bites (pioneer woman has a recipe), mashed potato mountains, Yappy's dog treats, etc. the appetizer options are freaking limitless! Thanks again for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
UHF forever! Oddly enough, the sweet and savory actually work very well together and this isn't as repulsive as it sounds. I heard Weird Al still eats these except with vegetarian hot dogs as he converted to vegetarianism since his UHF days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
hahahaha! this is hilarious!!! i love uhf!!! i obviously won't be trying this recipe, but I LOVE that you thought to put it on allrecipes. Hahahahaha!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveNCyprus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Malaga, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I gave this recipe a try. The first one was pretty good and the second was palatable. But the third one I couldn't finish. One warning: use the plainest dogs you can find. I used Wranglers the first time and plain ones the next. The plain were a lot better. I've made these a few times now just for a change of menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AK Dave

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
These are amazing. Trust me. But you left out one thing, hence the 4 stars. Before eating you have to dip it in milk. If you don't believe me you just need to watch UHF a few more times. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Yup, 5 stars for the UHF reference!! (I would never eat this though)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cafechef

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: North Baltimore, Ohio, USA
Living In: Worthington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
This is an amazing dish inspired by an amazing man. When I first heard Weird Al created this fine food I knew I had to make it myself, and one day I did indeed. Suprisingly enough, I enjoyed it! It is a very tasty treat. Don't let the looks or ida of it fool you, it isn't bad at all! Thank you Weird Al!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
4 stars for the UHF reference...but seriously, people, DON'T EAT THIS! :oD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
I have never eaten this (and never intend to) but have to give you snaps for the UHF reference! :) :) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
You get 5 stars for the UHF reference. Make this at your next party and "supplies" your guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make the Ultimate Steak Sandwich

Watch Chef John create the juiciest, meatiest steak sandwich ever.

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States