Twinkie® Wiener Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
These are amazing. Trust me. But you left out one thing, hence the 4 stars. Before eating you have to dip it in milk. If you don't believe me you just need to watch UHF a few more times. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
This seems like it'd be a really bad pregnancy craving. I gave it to a coworker who choked it down, and then said it needs more cheese. Thanks but no thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Photo by Spunky Buddy
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
At first glance this seems really unappealing. At first taste, it’s really not bad! I think Weird Al was on to something. The only mistake I made was going upscale on the wiener using a Boar’s Head wiener with a natural casing – it’s a little hard to bite into and tends to pull it apart. Should have stuck with a simple Oscar Mayer wiener which would have made this really good instead of just pretty good. I would best describe this as a dessert with a little meat. Once you get by the ingredients and try it as a snack you’ll be pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spunky Buddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Kevin
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
Sadly, as the guy who posted this recipe - I CANNOT make this, due to missing one key ingredient... For some odd reason, they ONLY sell Aerosol Spray Cheese in the US - it is NOT available to us Canucks! If I ever get my hands on a can of it - I WILL give these a try (and update this review). But then again, this is the same guy who used to eat bagels with Cream Cheese on one half, and Peanut Butter on the other ;););)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
A clever sandwich for a clever man. My husband really likes to eat these, not everyday, more like once every leapyear, he says they are a cured meat sensation. He tried to get me to take a bite, but the smell of the processed cheese squirt, made my stomach gurgle in a very unpleasant way. While slicing the twinkie in half to make a bun for the weiner is the traditional manner of making these I think cutting the the weiner and twinkies into bite size pieces and skewering them on a bamboo stick (twinkie wiener kebab, anyone?) could really uplevel this treat. You could plan a fun UHF party around these, also add in a wheel of fish (sushi rice krispie treats), flying poodle cookies, ghandi's steak bites (pioneer woman has a recipe), mashed potato mountains, Yappy's dog treats, etc. the appetizer options are freaking limitless! Thanks again for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2008
4 stars for the UHF reference...but seriously, people, DON'T EAT THIS! :oD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
You get 5 stars for the UHF reference. Make this at your next party and "supplies" your guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
UHF forever! Oddly enough, the sweet and savory actually work very well together and this isn't as repulsive as it sounds. I heard Weird Al still eats these except with vegetarian hot dogs as he converted to vegetarianism since his UHF days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
I have never eaten this (and never intend to) but have to give you snaps for the UHF reference! :) :) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
please, don't use easy cheese with this! In this case, velveeta is better. In fact, I would double the amount of velvetta, because this recipe is sooo cheesy:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make the Ultimate Steak Sandwich

Watch Chef John create the juiciest, meatiest steak sandwich ever.

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States