Twilight Dark Chocolate Truffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marcia
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Yum! I made these without the espresso powder, and they were delicious. I did modify the preparation, but not the ingredients. I put all of the ingredients in a large pyrex measuring cup and heated in the microwave for 2 or 3 minutes, stirring every 30 sec., until the chocolate was melted and the mixture was smooth. I skipped the 1st refrigeration step and just poured the molten chocolate into candy papers (mini baking cups), then put those in the frig for a couple of hours. Next time I will sprinkle on some nuts or sprinkles before I refrigerate them, and I will also try with a single pecan on top and maybe some mint extract in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
The only problem I encountered with this recipe was my own lack of a proper scooper. Using two regular dinner spoons, btw, is very, very difficult if you are looking for a proper, round truffle. I tried it again, switching the espresso powder for 1 tbsp ground coffe and 1 tbsp powdered sugar, and It gave a small distinction in flavor that I personally loved. I also drizzled it with some melted bitter-sweet chocolate, and it was simply excellent. Great recipe, whole family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
These turned out fantastically! They were simple, and tasted just as good as any of the ridiculously expensive truffles you buy in the store. I left out the espresso powder and it was really really good, so if you don't like coffee flavor, don't hesitate to make them without the optional espresso! Another thing my friend and I did was with the melted chocolate mixture in the sauce pan, after we poured almost all of it into the bowl to cool, was dip strawberries in the still hot melted mixture. It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by woobeewoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
My sisters and I made this for my mom on Mother's Day- it was her favorite part of the meal. We let it refrigerate over night before we scooped it into balls that morning; it worked better than waiting just an hour (we were opening the refrigerator more than necessary). We used a melon baller for the general shape and then used our fingers to make them more uniform. Then we wiped our fingers with a paper towel before rolling them in pecans and coconut, so they would look lovely for Mom. We continued to store them in the refrigerator because Georgia is warm and humid in May.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
I followed another review and stirred the chocolate batter a couple of times while it was setting in the refrigerator, but it still took several hours to set. I coated the truffles in crushed peanuts, dried cranberries, sliced almonds, and crushed m&m's. These were a hit! One other thing is that I wouldn't really call these dark chocolate truffles since all of the ingredients are semi-sweet chocolate, not dark chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
5 Star taste but 2 Star for prep. These taste AMAZING. I used Ghirardelli chocolate and dark roast coffee. Mine never got to a workable consistency. When I chilled the mix the outer layer hardened completely while the middle stayed a soupy mess. I finally had to put both hands in to make small balls of goop. I dropped each into a muffin paper (next time find candy size). For toppings I used sprinkles, coconut, honey roasted peanuts, peanut butter, orange liqueur, slivered toasted almonds, craisins, raisins & powdered sugar. If you can figure out how to make this recipe manageable for you, it will easily become your go-to favorite. Big Valentines Day hit - but wow, give yourself time to figure out the best technique. Here's hoping everyone else has more success because these really do taste better than anything I've ever bought at a candy counter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by elinor3
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I made these today for a party. They were so simple to make and really good! I stuck some in the freezer for a later craving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elinor3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grove, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Flavor is excellent. Fairly time consuming. I dipped them in melted dark chocolate after chilling. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jammari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winkler, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Steinbach, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Amazing! These truffles are super rich and oh so delicious. I did add the espresso powder, it gave these a wonderful flavor and really complemented the chocolate. I rolled these in crushed pecans, didn't want to roll them in anything sweet because they are so rich! Thanks Mykaela for this amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Homemade Dark Chocolate (Paleo)

This rich, paleo-friendly homemade dark chocolate melts in the mouth.

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States