Twice-Cooked Coconut Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2000
I am the kitchen master at one of the largest and most popular places in the Lansing/East Lansing area. We serve a house prepared version of coconut-shrimp that falls behind this recipe in preparation and taste. At home this will be the one I use from now on. Thank you for your submission Holly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2002
I love coconut shrimp and this recipe is absolutely wonderful. I tend to not use as much water so the batter is a bit thicker and I also mix in some flour with the coconut so it sticks better. As for the dipping sauce, I use pepper jelly and cut down on the mustard a bit. It is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BBHOLT

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
The shrimp was way over cooked. Will stick to my regular proceedure; one box of tempura mix, prepared as directed, dip shrimp in tempura batter, roll in coconut, coating well, drop into hot oil, (deep fryer on highest heat), also, do not put in the fryer basket, leave basket on the bottom of the fryer until shrimp is ready to remove, cook 4 minutes, drain on rack with paper towel under the rack, stays very crispy and shrimp is very tender. The hot oil will help keep the coconut on the shrimp. Dipping sauce was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
SECRET TO COCONUT STICKING which I'm surprised hasn't been mentioned: You have to chill the shrimp for at least 30 min. as recommended in another coconut shrimp recipe on this site! after you take it out of fridge, use your fingers to mold/glue on the coconut to the shrimp after it's been in the fridge for at least 15 minutes (but put back in fridge so it can continue to meld together). Just press down on each shrimp that is covered with coconut & the batter that has had time to meld onto the coconut will catch any lose flakes. I do this each time and never have any problems. Coconut burns easily, so I only cook about a small batch at a time so I can monitor their progress and flip faster. Also have paper towels ready after you fry to soak up the excess oil! This was very good, but don't get the point in heating your oven up for 5 min when the frying has already finished them off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2002
Made this because my boyfriend loves coconut shrimp. We both thought it was as good as, if not better than the restaurants. I did have trouble with coconut not sticking...use thicker batter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
This is really good. Like mentioned by previous reviews, I made the batter thicker & added a little flour to the coconut for the shrimp coating. I also didn't bake the shrimp as it wasn't necessary. The dipping sauce is good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
This was a wonderful recipe! The dip was to die for! I served this at a dinner party and everyone enjoyed. The dip was absolutely wonderful. One helpful hint: I put the coconut in a large freezer bag (with some flour) and shook up the shrimp in the bag. It made things a little less messy. Thanks for a great recipe and I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
My husband and I love these shrimp! Like other reviewers, I suggest using less water to create a thicker batter. I also cut down on the mess by putting the coconut in a bag, dropping the battered shrimp in, sealing the bag and shaking the shrimp around inside. I also found it was not necessary to bake the shrimp. The dipping sauce was PERFECT and would compliment chicken and pork as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingCutie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2002
This recipe started as an appetizer with super jumbo shrimp. By the time it hit the table no one wanted their filet mignon. ( also, skipped baking after deep frying)sv
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLNDMERMAID

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
I should have followed some of the other reveiws and made my batter thicker. I had a very hard time getting the coconut to stick. Perhaps adding an egg also would help,sorta like a tempura batter. There's got to be an easier way to make this work. The dipping sauce however,was very good. I used apricot jam instead of marmalade(I don't care for the flavor of marmalade) It was fabulous! You could use it on just about everything! Pork, chicken and seafood! Thanks Holly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

Coconut Shrimp

A beer batter keeps the coconut on these crispy shrimp during cooking.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States