Twice-Cooked Coconut Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2004
Really good recipe. You have to really pack the batter on the shrimp to make it stick, but delicous! I made it for guests and they loved it, but I thought it was too involved to make while having company. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2004
This dish tasted like restaurant quality. I always order coconut shrimp when I see it on a menu, now I can just make it at home and have it whenever I want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2004
Great recipe, great flavor, had to tweak the proportions of flour and water a little; as the batter seemed a little weak. I also added a little home grown dehydrated garlic. I added a 1/2 cup of ice cold beer instead of ice water. The shrimp was very moist and still tender. A Keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorraine Cornish Stanton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corning, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2004
GREAT COCONUT SHRIMP !! Definitly use less water in the batter or add flour to the coconut to help the batter stick to the shrimp. It tasted great with the sauce. Will make over and over. THANKS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: San Marcos, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2004
Thanks for the OUTBACK recipe. Very delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BajaValle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2004
I cut this recipe in half because of the number of prawns I had. It still worked great. After getting into it I realized we were out of marmalade so instead of found a can of mixed tropical fruit in my cabinet, finely chopped about 1/4 cup and added rest of dipping ingredients. It was awesome! My husband says better than any restaurant and I agree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
pretty good, too much salt for my taste will use the recipe again....with half the salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edgar, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2003
I also had a difficult time getting the coconut to stick to the batter-many of the fried shrimp had uncoated spots. The overall taste was not impressive. The dipping sauce was too sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
The flavor was great, but I had a hard time getting coconut to stick to batter. It turned into a huge goopy mess. My deep frying skills need improvement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMMERSANN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
I should have followed some of the other reveiws and made my batter thicker. I had a very hard time getting the coconut to stick. Perhaps adding an egg also would help,sorta like a tempura batter. There's got to be an easier way to make this work. The dipping sauce however,was very good. I used apricot jam instead of marmalade(I don't care for the flavor of marmalade) It was fabulous! You could use it on just about everything! Pork, chicken and seafood! Thanks Holly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

Coconut Shrimp

A beer batter keeps the coconut on these crispy shrimp during cooking.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States