Twice-Cooked Coconut Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2005
This was good but once fried I could taste very little coconut. I even used the sweetened coconut and there were a lot of flakes on the shrimp. The dipping sauce made them better and added taste. I added about 1/3 cup of pineapple perserves to the dipping sauce and I think it made it better. The orange was overpowering before. I will probably make them again just because they are different and this is probably just as simple as the other recipes out there. The people eating them like them because they don't know how much trouble it took:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
I fixed this recipe just a shown and it was delicious!! I will make it again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2005
This dish was completely time-consuming! The shrimp were fine, but not worth the effort, in my opinion. YMMV, of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2005
Delicious! I am guilty of changing a few things though. I used store bought batter mix from the seafood department and used that in place of the 1/2 cup flour and 1/2 cup cornstarch & salt. I didn't have any problems getting the coconut to stick to it. I also used sweetened coconut because that is what I had. In my opinion it was perfect! The sauce was also perfect. The entire dish was VERY quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2005
Very very good- just like in the restaurant. They weren't greasy like some others said theres were, but maybe its because I drained them on paper towels before putting them in the oven. The sauce was very good as well. The coconut was a little difficult- i would suggest sprinked it on the shrimp rather than rolling them in it- when i did this, it got the other cocpnut wet from the batter and then it wouldn't stick to the other shrimp. Other than that, it was quick and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
I had a hard time getting the battered shrimpt to stick to the coconut. In fact, so much came off in the coconut that I finally gave up and just dumped the coconut into the batter to cut down on the mess because the coconut was becoming clumped with batter. This worked out better. Overall the shrimp tasted too greasy. The baking in the oven definitely helped to crispen. I probably won't attempt this again. It was a lot of work! They tasted nice, but I was so frustrated with the coconut that it was hard to enjoy. 3.5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
To die for!! I made this as an appetizer at a dinner party and my guests loved it. The shrimp were hot and crisp on the outside, tender and juicy on the inside - and the sauce was sweet and hot at the same time, the perfect accompaniment. Putting them in the oven not only crisps them up a little more, but allows you to serve them hot for your guests. My compliments to the recipe creator!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
its challenging to get the coconut to stick, a bit messy, but totally worth the trouble. Great sauce too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
YUM! Just be sure and use unsweetened coconut. I made it once with sweetened coconut and though edible, it was too sweet. I also don't usually have marmalade on hand and have used Major Gray's chutney as a substitute very successfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
This is very good, definately restaurant quality. Alot easier than I thought it would be to make. I made this for my extended family & everyone loved it! Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Hopkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sturgis, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

Coconut Shrimp

A beer batter keeps the coconut on these crispy shrimp during cooking.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States