Twice-Cooked Coconut Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Excellent texture to this batter; makes crispy, flaky coconut shrimp! My husband and I both agreed that the 1 Tbsp. salt must be a typo; I cut the amount in half and it still seemed a bit salty. Next time I'll use only 1 tsp. or less and will use SWEETENED, shredded coconut (we like our coconut shrimp with a slight sweet taste, not salty). I skipped the baking step since I used pre-cooked shrimp to start with. The dipping sauce is super! Even my 21- mo.-old daughter loved dipping her shrimp in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Peter, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mosheim, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
good recipe but I found the shrimp were reluctant to hang onto the coconut
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I try not to futz around with recipes the first time around. I also try to make it a point to not take too much of other peoples' reviews & suggestions too close to heart. I figure the person that submitted it, submitted it that way for a reason. I should have paid attention on this one. The batter needs either twice the flour, or half the water. It was a drippy, useless mess. Finally, on the last 10 shrimp I just dumped the coconut itself into the batter. I probably used about twice the amount of coconut called for before mixing it with the batter. The sauce: yuck. Way way too much mustard, kills the whole idea of coconut shrimp. I get the concept of wanting a little spice - but mustard just didn't work. I'm kinda glad I planned on a second sauce, since I'm not a mustard person to begin with. I chopped up a can of Dole's Mixed Tropical Fruit - it was scoffed up. And so were the shrimp, by the way. So despite me nearly wailing this one across the room, to be fair, they were very good. But for inaccuracy, disproportion & personal aggravation I only gave this one 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Roscoe, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
These shrimp were delicious! I followed a suggestion by using less water than the recipe called for so the batter coated the shrimp. I used frozen peeled and deveined shrimp that I thawed in lukewarm water. Be sure that the shrimp are throughly dry before battering and frying. Although my husband lovd the dipping sauce, I didn't care for the bitter flavor of the orange marmalade and wished that I had used less dijon mustard. I ended up adding more honey to the sauce that I made for myself and it was great with the shrimp. In our fryer, set at 350 degrees as the recipe called for, the shrimp were done after about 3 minutes and would have been overdone if I had left them in for 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okemos, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Excellent! As suggested by others, I used about 1/4 cup less of water. Put the coconut in a ziplock bag and had no problem getting it to stick. Had to watch the shrimp closely as it cooked quickly and tended to burn if left too long; probably b/c I used only about 1/2 cup of oil and turned the shrimp halfway through. I used sweetened coconut b/c that's what I had around and it was not too sweet. Drained the shrimp after frying and had no problem with being to greasy. The sauce was great--even my husband who puts hot sauce on everything loved it. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
I am only rating the dipping sauce and not the shrimp. The dipping sauce is wonderful!!! Will make again:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
The shrimp was great - but the sauce was too strong for the shrimp. I am not sure if it was the orange marmalade or what but it was bitter and had a bad after taste. Just my opinion - I wanted something sweeter to compliment the light coconut taste. So I redid it and replaced with apricot jam, omitted the hot sauce, and reduced the dijon mustard in half and it was much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
This was delicious. I made it as directed. It tastes great with corn on the cob.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
good recipe, but way too much salt - decreased to 1/4 tsp. also added 1/4 tsp curry powder and 1/4 tsp paprika - gave the batter a nice spice. reduced ice water to about 3/4 cup. dredged shrimp in flour before dipping in batter. didn't bother to bake afterward either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
Time consuming but worth it. Made it for a party, it went fast with raves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

Coconut Shrimp

A beer batter keeps the coconut on these crispy shrimp during cooking.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States