Twice-Cooked Coconut Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
An average coconut shrimp recipe. We cut the water back to half a cup and added a quarter cup bourbon to the batter. This complemented the flavors perfectly. To the already delicious orange marmalade dipping sauce (which was a bit overly sweet for our taste), we added 1 generous tablespoon of soy sauce. This cut the sweetness while giving it a bolder flavor. This is certainly a dish you can have fun tweaking and eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Thumbs down! Sauce is way too sweet and therefore a thumbs down in my opinion.Too much work for a less than mediocre dish.Would not reccomend this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by leprechaun
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
All I can say is FANTASTIC ! The only variation I added was cumin to the batter...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leprechaun

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tawas City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Perfect. Don't change a thing. Served at a luau party and the dipping sauce is divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chardon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Newton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
This is delicious! We made a batch last night using plastic bags for the batter and for the coconut, which really cut down on clean-up. We used ~3/4 c. ice water in the batter which helped hold more coconut on and we added chipotle mustard to the dipping sauce to give it some more kick. Served with cornbread and green beans. Very tasty and we'll make again. Thanks Marbalet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
Good, but not worth the mess. Perhaps freezing them, or chilling them in between coating and frying would help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
SECRET TO COCONUT STICKING which I'm surprised hasn't been mentioned: You have to chill the shrimp for at least 30 min. as recommended in another coconut shrimp recipe on this site! after you take it out of fridge, use your fingers to mold/glue on the coconut to the shrimp after it's been in the fridge for at least 15 minutes (but put back in fridge so it can continue to meld together). Just press down on each shrimp that is covered with coconut & the batter that has had time to meld onto the coconut will catch any lose flakes. I do this each time and never have any problems. Coconut burns easily, so I only cook about a small batch at a time so I can monitor their progress and flip faster. Also have paper towels ready after you fry to soak up the excess oil! This was very good, but don't get the point in heating your oven up for 5 min when the frying has already finished them off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
So good! Not much else to say!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Elmira, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
these are awsome and I love coconut shrimp though if you make the batter thinker and dip shrimp in coconut after they are battered the coconut sticks much easier then to the shrimp alone. also another good dip is a creamy pineapple garlic dip (which is a recipe on this site aswell)it says to chill dip , but it is also awsome heated and served warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexandra

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Excellent texture to this batter; makes crispy, flaky coconut shrimp! My husband and I both agreed that the 1 Tbsp. salt must be a typo; I cut the amount in half and it still seemed a bit salty. Next time I'll use only 1 tsp. or less and will use SWEETENED, shredded coconut (we like our coconut shrimp with a slight sweet taste, not salty). I skipped the baking step since I used pre-cooked shrimp to start with. The dipping sauce is super! Even my 21- mo.-old daughter loved dipping her shrimp in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Peter, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mosheim, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

Coconut Shrimp

A beer batter keeps the coconut on these crispy shrimp during cooking.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States