Twice-Cooked Coconut Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
I decided to cook this for my family, not expecting it to come out this well but boy was I wrong! This was the best meal that I have ever made and my parents kept commenting that this was a restaurant quality recipe. The dipping sauce compliments it great as well. I paired the shrimp with a loaded baked potato, and you've got yourself a nice, hearty meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Excellent. Used beer rather than ice water and decreased to about 1/2 cup for a thicker batter. No need to bake at 300 degrees. Fry in batches, drain on paper towels and place in warm oven (170 degrees) until all batches have been fried and you are ready to serve. They were pretty sweet so I think I may use 1/2 sweetened and 1/2 unsweetened coconut the next time. The dipping sauce is delicious but I think a creole mustard would kick it up a notch. We doubled the shrimp (3 lbs) and therefore doubled the dipping sauce, but it really wasn't necessary. We had about 1/2 the sauce leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
my husband made theese they were fantastic, loved the sauce it complimented the shrip perfectly. We used a lot less oil to fry in and just fried for 2 or 3 min then fliped and did the other side(less waste). I defiantly want him to make theese again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pepsigrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Delicious! Better then the coconut shrimp at restaurants. I also didn't bake as per other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Mmm, I really like this recipe. Will definitely be making again. The only changes I made was cutting the entire recipe in half (which isn't really a change, lol) but then I cut the ice water in half again. I also took the suggestion of letting the battered and coconut-covered shrimp to sit in the fridge for 30+ minutes before frying. I just filled my dutch oven up with enough oil to cover the shrimp and turned the eye to medium-high. I had no problems at all with the coconut falling off. Also, I skipped the whole oven part. I think the sauce is what makes this recipe. It's like a fruity honey mustard. Delicious! Great recipe, will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ddcrowley

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Monmouth, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alabaster, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
We just didn't like this, coconut doesn't really care to cooperate and stick, that I can live with, but the shrimp is wayyyyy overdone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Best shrimp recipe ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Wonderful! Deep fried, but not baked. Make sure to use unsweetened coconut though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natsonline

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Excellent recipe! I used beer instead of water and it was a divine coating for the shrimp! Thanks Marbalet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mst917198

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
Very good but I didn't both to bake tham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

Coconut Shrimp

A beer batter keeps the coconut on these crispy shrimp during cooking.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States