Twice Baked Sweet Potatoes with Ricotta Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
An alternative to using the potato skins this recipe adapts to a small shallow casserole. I used the rosemary, oregano, thyme herbs and topped with a sprinkling of grated cheese prior to baking. Bake until bubbly on the sides & lightly browned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BJT1968

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grandview, Missouri, USA
Living In: Perrysburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I'm so glad I happened on this recipe tonight. I had exactly 3 sweet potatoes that needed to be used up, so this fit the bill. I omitted the sage altogether since I didn't have any, and tossed in a pinch of poultry seasoning (negligible amount, actually) as I know sage is one of the ingredients. Since I didn't feel like grating the wedge of parmesan cheese, I opted to throw in some feta cheese as a substitution. Besides, if it's this fantastic with the feta, I KNOW it would be awesome with the parm. But, you know what ingredient really makes this recipe? The shallots! They create such a wonderful contrast of flavors. Since the recipe calls for them to be browned, you get little tiny flecks of brown throughout the sweet potato mixture. Exquisite! Thank you so much for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
These were so delicious, they were the talk of the table! I used part of a sweet onion instead of shallots, and omitted the sage. Helpful tip: when you go to remove the innards after baking, if you just squeeze gently around the skin, the potato pops right out! No scooping needed ;) Lovely addition to a Light Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
This recipe was very good. We are not huge sweet potato fans, so this recipe was perfect because the ricotta and the onions toned down the sweet potato flavor quite a bit. We added bacon, and used a sweet onion rather than shallot and it turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CriticalMass

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Beaumont, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
WOW! What a standout recipe. I made this for dinner Friday night, and it was so good that I changed my dinner party menu for the next might just so I could include this dish. I followed the recipe exactly, except that I sauteed the sage with the shallots. Even my husband who doesn't like sweet potatoes ate them (though admittedly, he's not raving the way I am, but he liked them well enough). Really terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Wonderful flavor. Made it in a casserole instead of twice baking the skins. The only change I made was to use garlic and finely minced onion instead of the shallots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATLICKS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
Very good! Parmesan cheese is a must have in this dish. I didn't add any sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I made these for Thanksgiving and a few times since then. They are a nice change from the traditional sweet potato casserole. I still made a few adjustments to make them a little more Italian to complement the ricotta and parmesan. Instead of the sage, ginger, and brown sugar I added oregano, thyme, and rosemary. My husband loved them and he's not a big fan of sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I needed a side for grilled steaks and had sweet potatoes leftover from the holidays, so this recipe looked perfect! I didn't have ricotta so I used feta instead. I didn't have any fresh sage, so I used ground sage at a lower measure. I also substituted fresh chives for shallots because we grow them at home. I combined everything in the blender (food processor would be best if you have one), instead of browning up the onions and dirtying more pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
I have been making this every dish for every christmas eve dinner for about 5 yrs now. I plan to bring it this year for Thanksgiving. Nobody in my family including myself likes sweet potatoe, but when I make this no one can get enough...I highly recommend this dish for anyone who does not really like sweet potatoes but are willing to try them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by morgan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Baked Sweet Potatoes

See a healthier take on classic baked potatoes.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States