Twice Baked Sweet Potatoes with Ricotta Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
This recipe was very good. We are not huge sweet potato fans, so this recipe was perfect because the ricotta and the onions toned down the sweet potato flavor quite a bit. We added bacon, and used a sweet onion rather than shallot and it turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CriticalMass

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Beaumont, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
An excellent recipe! I was suprised by the richness of flavor and silky texutre that the ricotta lended to the potatoes without the addition of butter or oil. Great flavors, great recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly, and these turned out great. They were a good balance of sweetness-- definitely not too sweet like regular peppers. My husband loved them. We will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Nacogdoches, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
I made this because I had some sweet potatoes on hand, and I wanted to use some sage we grow in our yard. My husband LOVED it, although I was kind of so-so on it. I found the sage too strong--I would cut back on it. Not that the recipe was difficult, but when you consider the time put into making it, with chopping sage and onion, measuring ingredients, the cleanup of all the pans--in my opinion, it wasn't great enough to make it worth the effort. A plain ol' baked sweet potato tastes just as good, if not better to me! Another note: don't use a blender to make this--doesn't work well. Use a food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
These were so delicious, they were the talk of the table! I used part of a sweet onion instead of shallots, and omitted the sage. Helpful tip: when you go to remove the innards after baking, if you just squeeze gently around the skin, the potato pops right out! No scooping needed ;) Lovely addition to a Light Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I thought this was okay, but nothing special. I am glad I tried it, but I don't feel the need to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I'm so glad I happened on this recipe tonight. I had exactly 3 sweet potatoes that needed to be used up, so this fit the bill. I omitted the sage altogether since I didn't have any, and tossed in a pinch of poultry seasoning (negligible amount, actually) as I know sage is one of the ingredients. Since I didn't feel like grating the wedge of parmesan cheese, I opted to throw in some feta cheese as a substitution. Besides, if it's this fantastic with the feta, I KNOW it would be awesome with the parm. But, you know what ingredient really makes this recipe? The shallots! They create such a wonderful contrast of flavors. Since the recipe calls for them to be browned, you get little tiny flecks of brown throughout the sweet potato mixture. Exquisite! Thank you so much for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Awesome! I served this as a side with spicy chili, and I couldn't have been happier with the results. I love sweet potatoes and am always looking for unique sweet potato recipes...this fit the bill and got rave reviews at my dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I needed a side for grilled steaks and had sweet potatoes leftover from the holidays, so this recipe looked perfect! I didn't have ricotta so I used feta instead. I didn't have any fresh sage, so I used ground sage at a lower measure. I also substituted fresh chives for shallots because we grow them at home. I combined everything in the blender (food processor would be best if you have one), instead of browning up the onions and dirtying more pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
WOW! What a standout recipe. I made this for dinner Friday night, and it was so good that I changed my dinner party menu for the next might just so I could include this dish. I followed the recipe exactly, except that I sauteed the sage with the shallots. Even my husband who doesn't like sweet potatoes ate them (though admittedly, he's not raving the way I am, but he liked them well enough). Really terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Baked Sweet Potatoes

See a healthier take on classic baked potatoes.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States