Twice-Baked Sweet Potatoes With Mini Marshmallows Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I made these for Thanksgiving for something different and I couldn't have been happier that I chose these. I am not a big fan of sweet potatoes, but these were absolutely delicious. I loved the tang from the buttermilk and the sweetness of the marshmallows. I think these will be our new tradition for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
These were fantastic. I only used 2 sweet potatoes (just my husband and I for dinner), left out the black pepper, and used about 1/4 buttermilk and 2 tablespoons butter. I also added about a tablespoons of brown sugar. I didn't bother with a blender or food processor and just mixed everything into the scooped-out potato meat with a fork. I think the buttermilk really makes this dish, it adds a subtle tang that made the potatoes really good. The potato mixture by itself, before topping with marshmallows, was good enough to eat and I will probably use buttermilk now instead of regular milk when making mashed sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
These were SO GOOD!! I made 4 changes: add brown sugar (to taste), add 1 egg white, omit the pepper, and omit the milk (I still used the Buttermilk it called for). The sweetness went all the way through and they held together well. I also chose smaller sized yams so the skins wouldn't fall apart so easily. There were no leftovers from the Christmas dinner table. These will are now a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tattoogrl13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sutherlin, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
This recipe rocks! Pam was in town and cooked it at one of her classes and it was great. I even got my husband, who hates sweet potatoes, to love this recipe. I will never eat sweet potatoes any other way. And it's really easy. I had some shells left over, so I put them in a contained in the fridge, already stuffed, and just put the marshmallows on top before I popped them in the oven the next day at the same oven temp for 8 - 10 minutes. Anyone can make this. It's a keeper. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This is such a good recipe and I don't normally like sweet potatoes, but I loved these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Awesome! Love these! Everyone else loved them, as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This has been an absolute hit in my family for three meals! I served these for Thanksgiving and my in-laws were blown away! I actually hand-mixed the filling; a bit more time consuming, but I was able to smooth the surface before topping with marshmallows for a nice finish. I highly recommend! These also re-heat VERY well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetruin

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Huntington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Really loved this twist on sweet potatoes. Super delicious and a real attention getter. People that love sweet potatoes love love this recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by deathbycanon
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I made a few changes. I removed the flesh and hand mashed. I was out of buttermilk so I substituted a bit of sour cream and used less milk because I didn't want it runny. I added brown sugar, cinnamon, and nutmeg. I scooped back into the potato while it was still very hot. Add mini french vanilla marshmallows - they were all I had on hand but added fantastic flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deathbycanon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I just made these tonight for a delayed Thanksgiving meal with my husband. I did add a little brown sugar and cinnamon and nutmeg. The taste divine, the marshmallows oh yeah! The only issue was the mixture didn't move in my blender, so I scraped it all into a bowl and used a mixer. Will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States