Twice-Baked Sweet Potatoes With Mini Marshmallows Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
This recipe rocks! Pam was in town and cooked it at one of her classes and it was great. I even got my husband, who hates sweet potatoes, to love this recipe. I will never eat sweet potatoes any other way. And it's really easy. I had some shells left over, so I put them in a contained in the fridge, already stuffed, and just put the marshmallows on top before I popped them in the oven the next day at the same oven temp for 8 - 10 minutes. Anyone can make this. It's a keeper. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
This was alright the kids loved it....but I like my original way of having sweet potatoes and thats just with butter and brown suger.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
These were SO GOOD!! I made 4 changes: add brown sugar (to taste), add 1 egg white, omit the pepper, and omit the milk (I still used the Buttermilk it called for). The sweetness went all the way through and they held together well. I also chose smaller sized yams so the skins wouldn't fall apart so easily. There were no leftovers from the Christmas dinner table. These will are now a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tattoogrl13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sutherlin, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by deathbycanon
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I made a few changes. I removed the flesh and hand mashed. I was out of buttermilk so I substituted a bit of sour cream and used less milk because I didn't want it runny. I added brown sugar, cinnamon, and nutmeg. I scooped back into the potato while it was still very hot. Add mini french vanilla marshmallows - they were all I had on hand but added fantastic flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deathbycanon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
This recipe was a hit over thanksgiving, but I added walnuts to it and it gave it some interesting texture and light flavour. its very sweet , love it. Althou I will only make this once or twice a year , its delicious and can seem to taste more like a dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
I liked the idea of the do ahead on this recipe as I love being able to prepare side dishes the night before and leaving my oven free for the turkey. This allowed me to do it and I love sweet potatoes. I used regular milk and omitted the buttermilk and added one egg and sprinkled chopped walnuts and brown sugar on top. The blender didn't work for me. I ended up mashing the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
Flavor was good, but seemed a bit watery. Next time I'll add an egg to help it bind together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I made these for Thanksgiving for something different and I couldn't have been happier that I chose these. I am not a big fan of sweet potatoes, but these were absolutely delicious. I loved the tang from the buttermilk and the sweetness of the marshmallows. I think these will be our new tradition for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Really loved this twist on sweet potatoes. Super delicious and a real attention getter. People that love sweet potatoes love love this recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I did not care for these. There was definitely something missing!!! Maybe, some sugar brown, white, or honey? Another flavor dimension with a spoonful of orange juice like some other sweet potato caseroles? A spice like cinnamon? The mashed part of the potatoes was no different than making "mashed potatoes," in that it was only milk, butter, and salt. The marshmallows on top gave it a nice presentation, but it was just like eating "mashed potatoes with marshmallows on top." This would definitely have to be reworked. Or, maybe I am not getting it? I guess I was expecting a kind of sweet potato casserole taste baked inside of the sweet potato skins?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States