Twice Baked Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2004
I omitted the oil and foil step. I also did not add walnuts. I baked at 425 for 1 hour 15 min and still had to microwave them for about 5 minutes to get them soft enough. My husband and I really like this recipe and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
This is amazing. I made the sweet potatoes for Thanksgiving and everyone loved them. I did too and I have been a life-long hater of sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2004
Delicious recipe, and I'm not even a sweet potatoes fan! I omitted the oil and just popped them in the microwave instead of baking. I also added some cinnamon and nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2001
My picky brother in law made my sister call and get the recipe for these potatoes after he had them at my house. I made more than I thought I would need and they were gobbled up quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2001
Had this with a hawaiian luau, turned out great. Lots of compliments and requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2003
Got rave reviews! We did make a few changes: --Microwaved the potatoes, due to lack of time. Turned out great, actually (used the "Potato" setting on my micro, plus a few extra minutes for the really big sweet potatoes). Cooked them in 2 batches. --Added generous amount of cinnamon and a sprinkle of nutmeg. --Added handful more of brown sugar. --Used melted butter, largely due to microwave accident and forgetful cook! --Whipped everything up with a hand mixer Came out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
I don't usually submit ratings, but I just had to let everyone know how good this recipe is. It got rave reviews from everyone at Thanksgiving yesterday! I followed the recipe exactly except I forgot to fold in the walnuts, so I sprinkled them on top which looked really nice. I learned not to scoop the potato completely out of the skin. Leave a small border in order to keep the skins from being too floppy. When you refill the skins, it is easy to reshape them. I will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
Absolutely delicious! This is a keeper. The potatoes were not cooked in a hour so I turned up the heat a bit & put a metal knife in each one. This sped up the baking process. After another 20 minutes they were ready. I found this to be a super easy recipe. I used 1/3 less fat cream cheese & it turned out great. The walnuts add an interesting contrast in texture. We liked them. My husband loved these but found them a tad bit too sweet- so I'll probably decrease the brown sugar a bit next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2004
The Best!! And they can be prepared in no time. I put 2 med. sized potatoes in the micro and set it on high for 8. During that time I combined everything else. The potatoes were cooked to perfection after 8 min.(lucky on first try-but remember that every micro is different). Just mixed them into the cream cheese mixture and stuffed them back. They were ready to serve immediately without putting them in the oven. Do NOT use oil - would not have been able to save the skins if I had and we love eating those skins! Oh-those 2 potatoes served just the two of us. Glad we didn't have to share!! These can definitely be made ahead of time and put in the oven to heat through when your meal is almost ready in the oven. Thanks submitter - will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
Yum Yum!! What a great combination!! My boyfriend loved these and he supposedly doesn't like sweet potatoes...well he does now! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States