Twice Baked Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2001
This was great, but I ended up putting the mashed filling into ramekins and toasting marshmallows under the broiler. The skins were too soft to stuff, but absolutely delicious one way or the other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2001
My picky brother in law made my sister call and get the recipe for these potatoes after he had them at my house. I made more than I thought I would need and they were gobbled up quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2001
Had this with a hawaiian luau, turned out great. Lots of compliments and requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
This recipe is very good. My husband and I both liked it very much. I had a small problem with the cooking time, though. An hour at 400 or 425 would have been perfect but at 350 degrees the skins were too soft to restuff properly and they weren't even close to being done after an hour (when the rest of my dinner was ready to be eaten).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
I was assigned "sweet potatoes" this Thanksgiving and chose this recipe. I am not a huge sweet potatoes fan, but this dish was a hit at the dinner and I even liked it. But I did follow the advice of the other review and baked the potatoes at 425 degrees for 1 hour and 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
Who are they kidding with the oiled skins?? Big disappointment! They were MUCH too soft to stuff (as we thought they might be when the recipe said to oil and wrap with foil). The filling is yummy but NO oil and NO foil! Rhonda and Jake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2003
Really good. I scaled this recipe down to make 2 servings. I really liked that it is not overwhelmingly sweet - the taste of the sweet potato still shines through. If (like my husband)you miss the marshmallows, you could pop a large one on top of each serving at the end of cooking time, and place under broiler for a minute. Also, you could simply put the mixture into a 13x9 pan and bake until heated thru for a "casserole" version, but I really like the "twice baked" presentation for a change of pace. Very creamy and delicious, and easy to make! We'll definitely have these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2003
Got rave reviews! We did make a few changes: --Microwaved the potatoes, due to lack of time. Turned out great, actually (used the "Potato" setting on my micro, plus a few extra minutes for the really big sweet potatoes). Cooked them in 2 batches. --Added generous amount of cinnamon and a sprinkle of nutmeg. --Added handful more of brown sugar. --Used melted butter, largely due to microwave accident and forgetful cook! --Whipped everything up with a hand mixer Came out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
I don't usually submit ratings, but I just had to let everyone know how good this recipe is. It got rave reviews from everyone at Thanksgiving yesterday! I followed the recipe exactly except I forgot to fold in the walnuts, so I sprinkled them on top which looked really nice. I learned not to scoop the potato completely out of the skin. Leave a small border in order to keep the skins from being too floppy. When you refill the skins, it is easy to reshape them. I will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
This is amazing. I made the sweet potatoes for Thanksgiving and everyone loved them. I did too and I have been a life-long hater of sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States