Twice Baked Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
We liked these real well except they were a little hot, especially for the kiddos (and, I'm a Cajun who usually likes hot!). Will make again, but without the red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Berryville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
I definitely didn't succeed at stuffing the skins, they were too soft, but I made a nice sweet potato casserole on a bed of potato skins... I added a little extra spice to it--some cinnamon, nutmeg, a touch of cayenne (it was really great with just that hint of a bite to it). I also used about 1/2 the vanilla called for, and it was still a really strong flavor--but I use high quality real vanilla extract, not imitation, so that's not incredibly surprising. The texture of this is fantastic--the cream cheese really makes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robs

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
After baking the potatoes I ended up just scooping out all of the potato and putting the filling into idividual souffle dishes sprinkling with cinnamon then baking. A little swwet for my tastes, but my husband love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roosterlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tabernacle, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bunnell, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Very good. Because many of my family do not like sweet potatoes, I chose to freeze them in cup cake pans/with liners. I can just stick one in the microwave in a custard cup or ramekin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BETHCANDCO
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
very good recipe! We loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHCANDCO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenn Horton
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
These were very good. I will make them again. I cut the potatoes in half length wise and baked on cut side down on a foil lined baking sheet for 30 mins. I also used pecans instead of walnuts and added cinnamon and more brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Horton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
Lost my recipe very similar to this one so will post this to my recipe box. The other recipe did not have the oil or foil step but essentially the same otherwise. The recipe as written a definite 5. I had to sub SPLENDA sugars and imitation honey for diabetic hubby and have subbed pecans or macadamias when walnuts not available. Being a lazy cook, I microwave the sweet potatoes and then follow the recipe from there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patricia3096

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bristow, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
My husband and I loved this. The kids didn't try it but that was expected. I have my favorite sweet potato casserole dish that I have at Thanksgiving and Christmas that is really sweet but have wanted one to have with an everyday meal. We had one yam and I rubbed the outside with oil and butter and then sprinkled kosher salt on the outside and cooked it in the oven per instructions. The skin DID fall apart but I didn't care since it was just us and I mixed (and I didn't measure anthing)everything else together and just spooned it on top of the broken skin and put it in the oven for 5-10 minutes and it was really good with our grilled chicken breast and steak. It was just slightly sweet so it didn't overpower the rest of the dinner. Loved the cream cheese in it and made it creamy and rich but didn't taste it. Thank you!! I'll be making this often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOUTHERN_GAL12000

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
Wonderful recipe but not for dinner. I like a baked sweet potato with steak but not this one. It is way too rich and sweet. Tastes wonderfully decadent but for a desert not a side dish. Will try next time just scooping out of skin and baking in a pie shell. Heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
This was an easy way to make sugared sweet potatoes. I would give it five stars, but it was too sweet for me. I also think that next time I would use a different cheese other than cream cheese. I've had sweet potatoes with cheddar and it doesn't take away any of the natural sweetness of the potato. I will do this again, but I will be tweeking it for better results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States