Twice Baked Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Followed the recipe, and it came out perfectly! A nice changing from regular twice baked potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Not a good recipe at all. First of all, 1 hour @ 350 in the oven is not enough - the potatoes came out hard as a rock. We didn't care for the flavor of the ingredients either....tasted more like a dessert than a side dish. Very disappointed in this recipe. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I took these to work for our Thanksgiving feast and everyone loved them. I made a big batch and didn't take any home with me! Like other reviewers, I didn't bother with the oil and foil for baking. I used real butter, not margarine. Cut back just a tad on the sugar and vanilla, only because I knew my sweet potatoes were really sweet on their own. Great recipe - people were asking for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EuroGirl6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgeway, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I had a bite of this dish and it's not even finished but it's already tasting delicious. I started with a sweet potato that weighed in at more than 2 1/2 lbs, baked as instructed, cut into thirds and then halves. Scooped out the flesh, whipped it up with the listed ingredients plus 1 teaspoon of cinnamon and about 1/3 - 1/2 cups of miniature marshmallows. I did omit the black pepper -it just didn't sound right in this mix. OOooeee, the filling is decadent and I can hardly wait to serve them up with tomorrows Thanksgiving dinner. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANEDREAMER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Love em ! With or without the Creamcheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cameron

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
I made these last night for dinner along with pork tenderloin as the main dish. My husband thought they were pretty good, but I thought they were way too sweet and rich. I am sure they would suit some people's tastes well, but I couldn't take more than three bites. Not a complete failure as a side dish, but I probably won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmbietsch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This is so good. I only gave it 4 stars because it is so sweet. I had to cut the sugar a little bit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
I was doing a trial run for this year's Thanksgiving and saw this recipe. I loved the idea. I just changed a few things. While the potatoes were baking (w/o the oil but in foil - I didn't want the fire department to make a call) I took the same amount of unsalted butter and sauted finely chopped, peeled apple and cinnamon until the apples were soft but not falling apart; Cooled the apples & butter and followed the recipe as suggested. I switched out the walnuts for pecans as I did not have walnuts on hand. Because I had the apple in the sweet potatoe mixture I sprinkled chopped pecans on top! Beautiful presentation but very rich and filling. I think it will be a hit with the vegetarians at my table! Happy Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Very good. Sprinkled some cinnamon on top before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Johnston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
This is so good and easy! I did not use the oil and made the potatoes in the microwave. I did add a few marshmallows to the top which gave it a nice garnish. Will make them again for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States