Twice-Baked Ranch Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I've made this recipe several times and my boyfriend and his son love it! I added an extra ounce of cream cheese and left out the extra mashed potatoes since I felt there was plenty from the baking potatoes. I also threw them in the oven instead of making the whole dish in the microwave and I think it helps it. They are delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsOrangeandBlue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Very yummy! You do not need the extra mashed potatoes, just use the potato that you scoop out, you'll have plenty. Best part, these freeze really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I would have given five stars, had it not been for this recipe’s need for tweaking. First, I completely agree with the other reviewers: there was no need for the additional mashed potatoes, so those were omitted; and I still had filling to spare. I substituted whipping cream for milk, which was merely a preference. Also, once blended, the potato consistency was a bit mealy, so I had to use more than just the two tablespoonsful. I wasn’t measuring, but would probably guess the final call was close to a half cup (this might have been due in part to the potatoes’ being quite large; then again, I used three potatoes instead of four, so who knows). The only other thing I did differently from there was actually incorporating the cheddar cheese into the potato mixture before filling the shells, then topping them with additional cheddar. All in all, they came out pretty fantastic! Next time I’ll be trying these in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Romina Metzelar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
I have done similar for an appetizer at a restaurant I had worked at, except I didn't include extra mashed potatoes (I used only what was scooped from the baked potatoes). Also I did not add cream cheese to mine. The flavor of Ranch potatoes are definitely great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manlius, Illinois, USA
Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
We really enjoyed these! I also omitted the extra mashed potatoes, because I felt that there was no need for them, but I did reduce the dry ranch mix since I was using less potaotes (kept everything else the same). I finished these off in the oven because I had it on for something else anyway. This is a definate repeat recipe! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Such a tasty recipe! The ranch dressing made all the difference!! I added green onions to the mixture which also added to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Weaverville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
First time I made double-stuffed potatoes. I didn't use the extra mashed potatoes...they were already full enough. Very filling! I had a bigger package of ranch dressing so I didn't add as much but I wish I had have added more. I also added more cream cheese but that's just because my potatos were weird sizes.Good easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
This would get five stars but for needing a few tweaks. For starters, the extra 1 1/2 cups of mashed potato is totally unnecessary, and just adds a time consuming extra step. The pulp alone is just enough to fill these beautifully. I used a chive cream cheese blend, and to top, I mixed the cheddar with 2 tablespoons each of parmesan and bread crumbs with a drizzle of melted butter. As we had the bbq on anyway, I just put these on the top rack while the meat was grilling, to warm them through and crisp the topping. My hubby said they tasted just like sour cream and chive potato chips and the kids just loved them too. This will be our go to recipe for twice baked potatoes from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
time consuming a bit, but very very very tasty. Will make these again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I thought this recipe was great! The only thing is the mashed potatoes. After removing the filling from the baked potatoes, I had a ton of filling already. There was no need to add additional mashed potatoes. I left that part out and kept everything else the same. Great flavor and everyone raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States