Twice Baked Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2001
I use sour cream in lieu of the milk, add shredded cheddar to the potato mixture along with onion, green pepper, real bacon bits and I season with garlic powder and a little black pepper. Fattening, but soooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2000
I made these for Easter, but modified the ingredients. After scooping out the potato pulp, I added sour cream and fresh chives. Then I topped them with parmesan cheese. I let them cool, covered them, and refrigerated them overnight. After I pulled the ham out of the oven, I popped these in and everything was ready at the same time. A great make-ahead dish that results in a rather elegant and crowd-pleasing holiday dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2001
substitute heavy cream for the liquid, mix in about a cup of the shredded cheese with the potatoe mixture and add a little celery salt in the mix too! also when you scoop out the potatoe, put a dish towel in your hand and you can hold the potatoe better, saving it from breaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
My kids and husband loved this recipe. I made a couple of minor changes to the original recipe. I decreased milk by 1/2 cup and added 1/4 sour cream and mixed shredded cheese into the mashed potato mixture as well as some bacon bits. Filled each potato skin with the mixture and topped it off with some more shredded cheese on top of each potato. My kids are very picky eaters and they both asked if we could have these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dayna~rae
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
Update: I have started making a huge batch of these and freezing them in plastic ziplocks. Whenever my 3yo wants a 'baked potato', I take one out and microwave it for 2-3 minutes. Original review: Very classic, kid-friendly! I added more butter than called for, and also sour cream. I also halved the recipe (there are only 4 of us). Great way to stretch a potato! Thanks for the yummy post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
This one will get your kids whining, "Please, Dad. Can't you make twice baked potatoes tonight!" (just like I did Mom when I was their age). We love 'em.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Easter
Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
This recipe was great i added bacon to the recipe and sour cream and it came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2003
These were sooo yummy! I added more butter than called for and used cream rather than milk. I rubbed my potatoe skins with oil and sprinkled them with salt before I cooked them. These went great with our broiled ribeyes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This recipe is good just the way it is. People need to remember to at least try it the way it was intended before making major changes. I think only after that you should bend the rules.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marji71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moodus, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Meriden, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
very good basic recipe-- an excellent starting point!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Senator

Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

Baked Potato

For a perfectly fluffy baked potato, don't skimp on time. It's worth the wait.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States