Twice Baked Potatoes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I make these all the time with various alterations to accompany the main dish the best. I start with this basic recipe but consider mashing the cheese INTO the potato as well as on top. You will have that flavor baked in throughout the potatoe. Also, consider changing cheese. Cheddar is always good, but change it up. I like to use Monterey Jack, and sometimes combine both. Alternatives, as in mashed potatoes are cream cheese or sour cream. I like both and alter to whatever I have on hand, and sometimes light cream. Garlic powder is a nice alternative. And of course, bacon bits and/or chives. Lastly, I always sprinkle Paprika on top before I bake. YUM. Note: baked potatoes do take a long time, you can cut it by nuking your patatoes for a few mins before baking. NOT TOO LONG! A couple minutes is all you need. I always do this. They come out fantastic and the potato texture isn't sacrificed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
These are Wonderfully Moist Potatoes that you Can Bake ahead. I served these to My Family and they were instantly a Hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Loved them - added some real bacon bits too, so easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I added broccoli and cubed Velveeta cheese and microwaved the potatoes instead of baking. We topped with shredded cheddar cheese and ranch dressing. They were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Chaos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Just made this for dinner for my fiance and I and it was delicious! Didn't completely mash the potato insides up (our fault), but it was still excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anderson, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Good basic directions. About the nail suggestion; I agree, never use a construction nail, as they are not likely to be food safe. Gourmet stores sell solid aluminum potato nails for baking. Stick to those.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2010
I loved this and so did my hubby who doesn't even care for potatoes. I did my own measurements on the milk and butter, but I followed everything else exactly and I think this is an easy and delicious baked potato. Oh and I also mashed the potatoes with some butter after taking it out of the oven for the first hour and put in the microwave for ten min to speed up the process. I then added the rest of the butter, milk, and salt. Great baked potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BusyMom
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
These were easy to make, my 14 yo son loved them but I thought they were a bit bland. They were missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BusyMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
These turned out awesome. My 8 yr old loved them and i couldn't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRUNYAN1
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Loved this recipe! Made them for dinner and my husband loved them too! Skipped the butter, used skim milk and also added a tbsp of light sour cream. When they were almost done, sprinkled with some shredded cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Twice Baked Potato Casserole with Bacon

Potatoes, bacon, cheese...need we say more?

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Grilled Baked Potatoes

A delicious combination of baked and grilled potatoes in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States