Twice Baked Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2000
THESE TWICE BAKED POTATOES ARE JUST AS GOOD AS ANY YOU'D ORDER IN A RESTAURANT. HOWEVER, I HAVE TO ADMIT THAT I WAS NOT BRAVE ENOUGH TO INCLUDE MUSHROOMS, BREADCRUMBS OR CHIVES IN THE MIX. THESE POTATOES WERE EXCELLENT, HOWEVER IF YOU DO NOT LIKE ANYTHING WITH EVEN THE SLIGHTEST HINT OF SPICE OR IF YOU ARE SERVING THIS TO A CHILD, I WOULD RECOMMEND THAT YOU USE A SMALLER AMOUNT OF CRUSHED RED PEPPERS. THESE WERE A HIT AT A DINNER PARTY THAT I HAD; I WOULD DEFINITELY MAKE THEM AGAIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2000
I too left out the mushrooms and bacon, I was aiming for a creamy texture. I would make this again but will reduce the amount of red pepper as it was too spicy to really enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2001
I microwaved the potatoes to save time but it was still a little time consuming. I omited the chili pepper but my family LOVED it! The mushrooms carmelized beautifly into the potatoe mixture and just gave it a wonderful flavor. Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2001
i less than halved the amount of red pepper, and felt it was STILL to spicy (i like spicy food) and overpowered the rest of the flavor-- which was wonderful!!! next time i will definitely omit the red pepper! and there will definitely be a NEXT time for these!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2001
I make these for special occasions. I don't add bread crumbs, as this recipe calls for. They are time consuming, especially scraping the potato shells. But, they are SO good, definitely worth the effort. Also, they freeze and reheat well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2001
These were SO good! A huge hit. They are kind of time consuming to make, but worth it to make a big smash. I didn't have kids eat them...but my guess would be that there would be too much going on in them for kids to like 'em. Red peppers added just enough extra kick! Yum!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Catawissa, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hamilton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2001
Too much onion for my taste, but still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2001
These were fantastic!!! I didn't have any mushrooms or bacon, but they were awesome anyhow. Next time I will make sure I have them on hand. I also didn't have large baking potatoes. I only had four regular sized so I halved the recipe and just used those measurements instead. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
These are the Bomb!! I did change a few things. Not for kids though. I went with 1 Tbsp butter, and 1/2 tsp crushed red pepper from reading the reviews. I tasted before hand knowing I could add more if needed and it did not need more than that and it was perfect!! I love the idea of the mushrooms in it! This would have been all 5 stars but I think it would be much to spicy for kids. Thanks Jamie for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2002
What a HIT!!! I followed the recipe exactly, except for just using a dash of red pepper (because of the previous reviews) and they were perfect. I also purchased the Hormel Fully Cooked Bacon Pieces instead of going to the trouble of cooking the bacon which turned out to be a great short cut. They turned out simply beautiful. The mushrooms & onions added the "gourmet" touch. Even the "picky" eaters in the group loved them. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States