Twice Baked Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
These are the Bomb!! I did change a few things. Not for kids though. I went with 1 Tbsp butter, and 1/2 tsp crushed red pepper from reading the reviews. I tasted before hand knowing I could add more if needed and it did not need more than that and it was perfect!! I love the idea of the mushrooms in it! This would have been all 5 stars but I think it would be much to spicy for kids. Thanks Jamie for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2000
THESE TWICE BAKED POTATOES ARE JUST AS GOOD AS ANY YOU'D ORDER IN A RESTAURANT. HOWEVER, I HAVE TO ADMIT THAT I WAS NOT BRAVE ENOUGH TO INCLUDE MUSHROOMS, BREADCRUMBS OR CHIVES IN THE MIX. THESE POTATOES WERE EXCELLENT, HOWEVER IF YOU DO NOT LIKE ANYTHING WITH EVEN THE SLIGHTEST HINT OF SPICE OR IF YOU ARE SERVING THIS TO A CHILD, I WOULD RECOMMEND THAT YOU USE A SMALLER AMOUNT OF CRUSHED RED PEPPERS. THESE WERE A HIT AT A DINNER PARTY THAT I HAD; I WOULD DEFINITELY MAKE THEM AGAIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2002
I tried this recipe with a few minor variations and my guests really liked it. I used 9 small Golden Russets in lieu of the large baking potatoes, omitted the bacon (to satisfy the vegetarians) and used only 1/4 tsp. red pepper (1/2 tsp. might have been better). The potatoes were even better the day after--something I'll remember next time I make them. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wexford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2002
Im just learning to cook, and this recipe was very simple to follow. They turned out great and my guests loved them, they even asked for the recipe! The first batch I made though, the filling ran out all over when in the oven. My second attempt I didnt hollow so much out of the skins and they were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHYTEETEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilkeson, Washington, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2001
I microwaved the potatoes to save time but it was still a little time consuming. I omited the chili pepper but my family LOVED it! The mushrooms carmelized beautifly into the potatoe mixture and just gave it a wonderful flavor. Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2001
I make these for special occasions. I don't add bread crumbs, as this recipe calls for. They are time consuming, especially scraping the potato shells. But, they are SO good, definitely worth the effort. Also, they freeze and reheat well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2001
These were SO good! A huge hit. They are kind of time consuming to make, but worth it to make a big smash. I didn't have kids eat them...but my guess would be that there would be too much going on in them for kids to like 'em. Red peppers added just enough extra kick! Yum!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Catawissa, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hamilton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2001
Too much onion for my taste, but still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2001
These were fantastic!!! I didn't have any mushrooms or bacon, but they were awesome anyhow. Next time I will make sure I have them on hand. I also didn't have large baking potatoes. I only had four regular sized so I halved the recipe and just used those measurements instead. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2002
What a HIT!!! I followed the recipe exactly, except for just using a dash of red pepper (because of the previous reviews) and they were perfect. I also purchased the Hormel Fully Cooked Bacon Pieces instead of going to the trouble of cooking the bacon which turned out to be a great short cut. They turned out simply beautiful. The mushrooms & onions added the "gourmet" touch. Even the "picky" eaters in the group loved them. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States