Twice Baked Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
Four stars.. only because it wouldve been WAAAAY too pepper-y for me! i decreased the pepper.. for myself, only 1/2 Red Pepper, 1/2 Black Pepper is sufficient.. ALSO-- I mixed the potatoes w/ an electric mixer... then stuffed the shells... WAS AWESOME OTHERWISE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
Love the spicy kick! The ONLY thing I would change about the recipe is that the potatoes need to be mashed some before adding them to the mix. Otherwise...they ought to be against the law! Will do this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
This recipe is incredible - best twice-baked potatoes my family's ever had! I omitted the red peppers (based on other reviewers' comments that they made the potatoes too spicy for children) and the mushrooms (my husband doesn't care for them), and still, this side dish stole the show. Because so many ingredients are added to the potato, I had lots of leftover "insides," so I made a cassarole with the leftovers by putting it in a cassarole dish, sprinkling it with breadcrumbs, extra cheese, and extra bacon. It was absolutely delicious! This time, I used reduced-fat sour cream and cheese, and half regular bacon and half turkey bacon; next time, to make it healthier, I'll use fat free sour cream and cheese, and all turkey bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
Very good - I followed the recipe except for the mushrooms and red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Penny Newton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Heber Springs, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
My family has been making twice baked potatoes every Christmas for as long as I can remember and usually a few other times a year as well - no one can beat these! Both my grandfather and my dad are amazing cooks, but this beats them both by FAR. Be careful not to put too much pepper as that can quickly overpower the recipe, but as long as you follow the recipe it's fine. I ran into trouble when I was using way more potatoes and started eye-balling things. Try to use the scaling feature to get the approximate number of potatoes you have. I'm usually not a strict recipe girl, and for the most part that's okay, but watch the pepper. But these are GOOOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
These potatoes are DIVINE! They are now a weekly meal at my house! My boyfriend LOVES them and so do I! I follow the recipe to a tee and it is so flavorful! Hard to go back to a regular baked potato once you make these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARRINGTONX2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
These are great, a fave of my husband! I usually make them with smaller potatoes, bacon bits, and low fat sour cream and cheese so that they are a bit lower in calories. They are even better leftover, aka thrice baked potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
We were going to make baked potatoes tonight with our steak but I wanted to spice up the potatoes a little bit so I found this recipe. I thoroughly enjoyed these potatoes. Followed the recipe exactly. Just a great accompaniment to any meat dish, superb alternative to plain baked potatoes. There was a bit of prep-work involved, but in the end it was worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
I made these without the bacon as I am a vegetarian. I upped the amount of mushrooms to one cup. Only added in half the sour cream (used the light version)and added a handful of grated cheese to the mixture. Once I put the stuffing in, I topped each potato with bread crumbs, sprinkle of cheese, and some chives again. This was VERY filling, I ate this as my main with a spinach salad. My family members enjoyed this as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 81-90 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States