Twice Baked Potato Casserole With Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2015
This was delicious. It was easy to make. I used it as a main dish with a salad on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peaches

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2015
This is super tasty. I used 6 potatoes (2 lbs). They have to be unusually large potatoes for just 2 to fill that size casserole. I also feel fresh chives and garlic are better for this recipe. For those reasons I gave this 4 stars. With the fresh ingredients and proper amount of potatoes and some added crispy skin, it is definitely 5 stars! Changes I made: I ended up using 2 lbs of yukon gold potatoes (about 6) 1 tablespoon freshly chopped chives, and 2 cups shredded cheddar with the remaining ingredient amounts as written and this filled an 11"x7" casserole dish nicely. I also replaced the garlic powder by combining 1/2 teaspoon freshly minced garlic with 2 tablespoons butter and microwaving that for a minute until the butter is melted and the garlic is softened and added that to the potato mixture. For added flavor & texture, I chopped up about 1/2 of the crispy potato skins and mixed those into the potato mixture. It was a great addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Life Tastes Good

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2015
This recipe has all the ingredients of a rich and creamy, flavorful twice-baked potato dish. Unfortunately, the measurements are way off. It calls for 1/2 lb bacon and 3/4 c. cheese for 2 potatoes...then to top with another 3/4 c. cheese...Holy Mother of God! Would you like some potato to go with that cheese and bacon? And those must be some massive potatoes, to fill a 9x13 pan...I couldn't find those, my supermarket only sells potato-sized potatoes. Nevertheless, I went ahead and tried the recipe as written, and while I stuck to the original ingredients, I ended up abandoning the recipe and finishing by taste, texture and consistency. The casserole turned out great, however since I walked away from the measurements, it's pointless to say so. The main reason for my review then, is to share this: it occurred to me as I made this casserole that I was very close to duplicating (in ingredients and process), a similar and much-loved recipe from this site: Ultimate Twice Baked Potatoes By Dannon Oikos. I make this recipe frequently, and the only reason I wasn't making it this time, is that I'm always looking for the next best thing. It's the best Twice Baked Potato recipe I've found. The ingredients are almost identical to this recipe, and you could simply spread the filling in a casserole dish rather than putting it back into the potato skins. If you like the like the look of this recipe, try the Ultimate TBP recipe...the measurements are spot on with amazing flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Clemente, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2015
Great a few problems the potato to other ingredients does match. Used 6 large and next time will use 8 and add more milk and sour cream as needed. I also added end 1 cup cheddar to the mixture , then added more to the top as far as the bacon goes I also put that into the mix as well . I come from a restaurant background and have been making this version in the twice baked skins for at least 30 years. Glad to be reminded to put the mix in a bowl and in a casserole ,great for large gatherings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2015
Kids loved this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smross5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Underwood, Iowa, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2015
No changes and would maki it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2015
It doesn't seem right that this recipe calls for 2 potatos and a 9x13 dish. I have used 4-5 medium size and that fits nicely in my 9x13 dish. I also double all the other ingredients. It is very good, the whole family eats it up! This is a nice change when the regular 'party potato' recipe gets boring, you know the one, it calls for frozen hash browns...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Verona, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2015
This turned out a little dry so next time I would add more sour cream and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2015
Everyone in my house loved this recipe. I used an 11x7 pan because I thought the 13x9 was too large. I followed the recipe as written except used light ingredients when possible. We served 4 hungry adults and one 10 yr old and still had some left overs. Thanks for a yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
I've been making a baked potato casserole similar to this for at least 30 years. I do not use garlic, I use chopped scallions. It has always been a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dinner Date

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Twice Baked Potato Casserole with Bacon

Potatoes, bacon, cheese...need we say more?

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States