Twice Baked Potato Casserole With Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2015
Wonderful! Tip:Don't discard the skins!! Prepare them as potato skins, add cheese and bacon and flash freeze them, then seal them in portion sizes freezer bags for an easy homemade potato skin appetizer later! Just put frozen potato skins in preheated oven at 350 for 10-15mins. Now about the Casserole! It's wonderful! Followed exactly except I added seasoned salt instead of regular salt and tripled the recipe. By tripling the recipe I have plenty to put in the pan for the casserole as well as extra potatoe stuffing to put back into my potatoe skins to freeze for last as twice baked potatoes. Love the versatility of this recipe and being able to use up all of my potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I made it a bit easier. I used instant potatoes (made according to package) and didn't use sour cream (didn't have any on hand) or milk, instead I used half and half. I also topped it with 1tbs of bacon bits and parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Lindenhurst, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
My roommate picked this recipe to make for some friends of ours. We made it to serve 12 instead of 4 and ended up using an entire 4oz package of organic 'living' chives, and it was a complete hit! Everyone LOVED it, and we're definitely keeping this recipe to use again! My only regret is not having taken a picture of them. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Ogren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakley, California, USA
Living In: Martinez, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Tasty casserole. I didn't use any dried chives on top and instead of baking the potatoes I just boiled them then mashed them. Brought this for Sunday dinner after church and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2014
I made this for Easter dinner and had 15 people. I boiled and mashed the potatoes. EVERYONE LOVED IT! I actually prepared it the day before and then covered and baked for about 40 minutes at 350 degrees. It was delicious! I actually have several people asking for the recipe. I will definitely be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
Grew up with this recipe with a couple of alterations. I use sharp cheddar & half and half. Also, cut the baked potatoes in half lengthwise and SAVE them. I make a large casserole of this using 6-8 potatoes and increase the rest of the ingredients proportionally. 5-10 minutes before the casserole is ready, put all the skins in the oven (on a baking sheet or even just on the oven rack) to warm them. Serve in a bowl so that guests may fill the skins with the casserole. I have family who always want to fill skins and much prefer it that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This was a yummy dish! Just right for the steak meal we planned. I followed the directions as written,, but it could easily be adapted with other spices. Next time I think I will add some sauteed onions to the potato mixture. Definitely a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
We enjoyed this dish but there's something really wrong with the proportions given. I doubled the amount of potatoes, did not double the remaining ingredients, and it came out just right and fit perfectly into a 7x11 baking dish, about half the size of a 9x13. I don't understand how anyone could stretch two mashed potatoes to fit into a 9x13 dish. Other than that, everyone liked it. I did use sliced green onions in place of dried chives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
This has become a favorite in my family. Especially popular side served at steak cook-outs. An easy make ahead dish. Try roasting some garlic while baking the potatoes. Squeeze out 1 or two cloves into the potato mixture. We also like thinly sliced fresh scallions in place of chives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
I have a question for those who made this dish. Did you use a 9 x 13 dish? This does not seem to be enough food for a 9 x 13 pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Twice Baked Potato Casserole with Bacon

Potatoes, bacon, cheese...need we say more?

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States