Twice-Baked Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: May 29, 2008
Okay another good mashed potato recipe! I didn't add the green onions (didn't have). My only addition to this was 1/2 cup of sour cream. I used a potato masher (instead of a mixer) to mash potatoes, so I had a few lumps. If you want a smoother texture before baking in the oven make sure to use a mixer. I put the remainder cheese on top the last 5 minutes of baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I've made these many times now. A few things I always do: I like to make my mashed potatoes with a combo of mostly potatoes, some broccoli and cauliflower. The veggies will disintegrate after they are cooked and mixed with a mixer or by hand.(I throw in the broc/cauliflower in the last 10-12 minutes that the potatoes are boiling, -Have to try to sneak in some veggies for the kids.) Prepare as usual adding some butter, salt and pepper and reduce milk substituting some sour cream in there. I add in garlic as well. Add in the sauteed peppers and onions, then the cheese, bacon and mix together. Top with cheddar, bacon pieces and green onions for a really colorful and pretty dish. Family always requests that I bring this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
This was SO great!. I used leftover mashers for this recipe, although it would be fairly quick to whip them up for this recipe as well. I made a few minor alterations- to the mashed potatoes, I simply added some of that precooked microwave bacon(it was only 30 seconds to nuke and chop), Then I omitted the pepper - I simply added my chopped bacon, chopped green onion, cheddar, and I added about 8 oz. of sour cream- mixed it up and sprinkled the remaining cheddar on top- and these were fantastic! Even my picky hubby and 18 mo. old loved them. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MLALAK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dublin, Ohio, USA
Living In: Berea, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
These are everything you love about twice baked potatoes (except for the skin!) without the fuss. I made this using "Rich Mashed Potatoes," also from this site. The peppers, especially, added great flavor and color. I also sprinkled this with more crumbled bacon and chopped green onion during the last five minutes of cooking time. Couldn't be easier, prettier, or more delicious! I served this for a dinner get-together and there wasn't a spoonful left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
I thought these were really good and really easy. I used instant mashed potatoes made w/out butter and skim milk, green onion instead of the onion and green peppers. Did not saute the onion to omit the oil. Used FF cheese and turkey bacon to help lighten up the recipe. It was very good!!! The cheese just gets heated instead of really melting but my picky family loved it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
This is a great recipe! Everyone in the house went back for seconds. I did make some alterations, though. One of the best things about this is how versatile it is. I replaced the onion and green pepper with green onions, and since we have a vegetarian in the house, I omitted the bacon. I also added a dash of garlic powder. Next time I'll probably use half of the pepper this recipe called for, it was a bit much for my tastes. I'll definitely be making it again! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
This is the BEST mashed potato recipe out there. Hands down! I have yet to find one to beat it. I followed the recipe to the letter. Thank you Margaret for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri's Best Recipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Philadelphia, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Spring Hope, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Always a family favorite. I use leftover mashed potatoes to fix this dish. It is so versatile...you can saute mushrooms with the onions, add chilies, whatever you like on your baked potatoes. I always leave the last addition of cheese until the last few minutes of baking and have used a variety of chesses, also. Great with baby swiss. Thanks for the recipe, Margaret.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mee-Maw

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
THIS IS A WINNER. MAKE IT ALL THE TIME
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lexington, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
YUM! Oh my, what a wonderful flavour! I threw in my cheese with my onions when my onions were done to melt the cheese, it sounds messy and icky, but it is quite nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camrose, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States