Twice-Baked Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
This was SO great!. I used leftover mashers for this recipe, although it would be fairly quick to whip them up for this recipe as well. I made a few minor alterations- to the mashed potatoes, I simply added some of that precooked microwave bacon(it was only 30 seconds to nuke and chop), Then I omitted the pepper - I simply added my chopped bacon, chopped green onion, cheddar, and I added about 8 oz. of sour cream- mixed it up and sprinkled the remaining cheddar on top- and these were fantastic! Even my picky hubby and 18 mo. old loved them. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MLALAK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dublin, Ohio, USA
Living In: Berea, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
Really good way to use left over potatoes. can't wait to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
This was a great potato recipe - so good with halibut, but could go with just about anything. I used red pepper instead of green, and chives instead of onion (I added them to the pepper for the last few minutes of sauteeing). It only took 15 minutes for the cheese to melt - but my potatoes were warm.Thanks for the recipe Margaret.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I had a few people over for thanksgiving that don't eat gravy...this worked out great they loved the flavor and still enjoyed mashed potatoes with everyone
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
Loved this. I used instant potatoes instead of real mashed potatoes. I also left out the green pepper as we don't like it much. Otherwise it was great and I shared it with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I've made these many times now. A few things I always do: I like to make my mashed potatoes with a combo of mostly potatoes, some broccoli and cauliflower. The veggies will disintegrate after they are cooked and mixed with a mixer or by hand.(I throw in the broc/cauliflower in the last 10-12 minutes that the potatoes are boiling, -Have to try to sneak in some veggies for the kids.) Prepare as usual adding some butter, salt and pepper and reduce milk substituting some sour cream in there. I add in garlic as well. Add in the sauteed peppers and onions, then the cheese, bacon and mix together. Top with cheddar, bacon pieces and green onions for a really colorful and pretty dish. Family always requests that I bring this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
THIS IS A WINNER. MAKE IT ALL THE TIME
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lexington, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
i have to say this recipe has started a wonderful trend! I had to make a few alterations as I didn't have everything required for the exact recipe. I used 7-8 small red potatoes, wrapped them in foil and baked (about 50 minutes). i let them cool for a little bit, put them in a bowl, mashed with a fork, added about 2 tbls of butter and a little milk, a little garlic salt and a pinch of lemon pepper. (w/ a little reg. salt and pepper.) sauteed green peppers and onions. I mixed the potatoes, butter, milk, spices, w/ 1/2 the cheese (i cut about 10 pieces into slivers w/ a knife) w/ mixer.(it will be thick) then i added the peppers and onions and mixed in w/ a fork. I put all that in a lightly greased 2qt pan, covered w/ remaining cheese and baked for about 20 minutes until the cheese was melted. (cooking time may vary, mine was pretty fast-due to potatoes being just baked before i mashed them so they were still warm). I've made this twice in 2 weeks. MY BOYFRIEND AND I LOVE IT!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
Made this over the weekend. I used chives instead of the onion as someone suggested...came out DELICIOUS! Boyfriend LOVED THEM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISE03

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
This recipe was soooo good! The family ate it up! Made the mashed potatoes with lots of butter and half and half, used 1 cup crumbled feta cheese in the mix and a parmesan mixture on top. The flavor was so yummy!! I added more potatoes then recipe says and it was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States