Twenty Minute Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2000
i'm always looking for an easy recipe for "store-bought type " breads. OK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2001
This is a great recipe. My husband and I just love it. I cut the recipe in half and put it in my bread machine on the DOUGH setting and it works just great! But make sure there is just the right amount of flour so it's not too sloppy or too stiff in the machine. Thank you for sharing this one! I had always wanted to make hamburger buns at home but all the other recipes I used had a tough outside, but this is nice and soft, just like if they came from a bakery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2002
I made both your recipe and another one that uses less sugar and flour, but also uses an egg in the mix. I haven't yet decided which one I prefer, but honestly they're both GREAT! I am thrilled that I am able to make this from scratch with not much time involved. Thank you! Tomorrow is Father's Day and I am trying out both buns on my guests, I'll let you know how it goes :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2004
These have a great light texture, I think because they contain less flour than the average recipe. As noted, the dough is indeed sticky however I mixed this in a food processor so I had no problem with the kneading. I used regular yeast (took about 20 min. longer for the 1st rise), half whole wheat flour and baked them for close to 20 minutes. They're great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2004
Excellent recipe. Mine turned out just a little heavier than I was expecting, but I think that may be because my bread machine (on dough setting) worked the dough longer than the time called for in the recipe. Or else I used too much flour and got it a little too stiff. Even still the rolls had a great texture and taste, a special treat with grilled burgers -- a 5 star recipe for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Picayune, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2004
These buns were awesome! I sustituted 1/2 wheat flour for a different texture and flavor and it worked out great. I'm sure they would be just as good with all white flour. Heavy, but not too dense. We used them for sloppy joes, and will definitely make them again. Kept well overnight and made for a good peanut butter sandwich for breakfast :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEHUNGRY98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
easy to make and delicious! also good the next day for an egg & cheese sandwich. i sometimes adjust the size for bigger/smaller buns. they rise a lot so beware. i make these every time i make burgers so there's a delicious meal, as well as no left over buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama cowpoke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Merriam, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
While I wouldn't say these are your typical hamburger bun they are really good. My family likes them for use in egg sandwiches. I use my mixer with the dough hook to stir and kneed the dough thus avoiding the stickyness. For additional sweetness I 2tb honey, I have also made them regular way. I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Place relatively close together in pan for they do spread out a bit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
SO GOOD its just like bread youd buy from a bakery I am going to make this a lot more :) !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States