Twenty Minute Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Yummy! Best bun recipe I have tried yet. I added 1t of vital wheat gluten and sprinkled some sesame seeds on top....very good !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Made beautiful sandwich buns, even in a cold house. Definitely a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altona, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
I didn't have quick yeast so I used regular and raised it a bit longer both times. Also, I made 4 HUGE buns out of this for 4 hungry people. (I filled them with a buffalo chicken salad type thing. Basically, hunks of my baked chicken mixed with Franks buffalo sauce, and then mayo, adding garlic powder, onion powder, salt, pepper and dried parsely to taste. This is for a ranch sauce. Blue cheese would have been fun too!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dave C63
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
These buns are simply great! I halved the recipe and found that it fit perfectly in my 2 lb. bread machine (on the dough cycle), which cut way down on the mess (for me). Then they just needed to be divided and given a final rise on the baking sheet. I added sesame seeds on top of the egg wash just before baking. Since I made 6 buns instead of 9, I added 2 minutes to the baking time. I suggest turning the baking sheet at about 12-13 minutes for even browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
I had a couple of problems with the recipe. My yeast was fine, and it rose OK the first time around, but the they didn't rise double the second time around (certainly not in 20 minutes). They also didn't have much spring. The end result had an acceptable taste and texture, but most were too small for a hamburger bun. I'd probably cut in thirds and then cut each third into 4 or 5 pieces instead of 6. I raised my oven temperature about 10 degrees, but 15 minutes was also insufficient cook time... at 15 minutes, the pieces that were dinner-roll size were fine, but the bun-size were fairly anemic looking and doughy in the middle. I think the recipe needs to be adjusted slightly for cook time and hotter oven temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
First time making buns, Even with a bit of a mess up on the rising(totally my fault) they still turned out just awesome! Can't wait to have with our meal's! I doubled the batch as I wanted some to freeze as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
SO GOOD its just like bread youd buy from a bakery I am going to make this a lot more :) !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Place relatively close together in pan for they do spread out a bit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
While I wouldn't say these are your typical hamburger bun they are really good. My family likes them for use in egg sandwiches. I use my mixer with the dough hook to stir and kneed the dough thus avoiding the stickyness. For additional sweetness I 2tb honey, I have also made them regular way. I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
easy to make and delicious! also good the next day for an egg & cheese sandwich. i sometimes adjust the size for bigger/smaller buns. they rise a lot so beware. i make these every time i make burgers so there's a delicious meal, as well as no left over buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama cowpoke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Merriam, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Hot Cross Buns I

See how to make classic Easter yeast buns with your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States