Twenty Minute Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
This is a good recipe for simple rolls. It does take more than 20 minutes however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Josephine Roeper
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
Maybe 4 1/2 rounded to 5. It had a very yeast-y taste but nice, fluffy, and easy to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
I have made these several times and they are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Yummy! Best bun recipe I have tried yet. I added 1t of vital wheat gluten and sprinkled some sesame seeds on top....very good !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Made beautiful sandwich buns, even in a cold house. Definitely a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altona, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
I didn't have quick yeast so I used regular and raised it a bit longer both times. Also, I made 4 HUGE buns out of this for 4 hungry people. (I filled them with a buffalo chicken salad type thing. Basically, hunks of my baked chicken mixed with Franks buffalo sauce, and then mayo, adding garlic powder, onion powder, salt, pepper and dried parsely to taste. This is for a ranch sauce. Blue cheese would have been fun too!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by David Cooke
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
These buns are simply great! I halved the recipe and found that it fit perfectly in my 2 lb. bread machine (on the dough cycle), which cut way down on the mess (for me). Then they just needed to be divided and given a final rise on the baking sheet. I added sesame seeds on top of the egg wash just before baking. Since I made 6 buns instead of 9, I added 2 minutes to the baking time. I suggest turning the baking sheet at about 12-13 minutes for even browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Cooke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
I had a couple of problems with the recipe. My yeast was fine, and it rose OK the first time around, but the they didn't rise double the second time around (certainly not in 20 minutes). They also didn't have much spring. The end result had an acceptable taste and texture, but most were too small for a hamburger bun. I'd probably cut in thirds and then cut each third into 4 or 5 pieces instead of 6. I raised my oven temperature about 10 degrees, but 15 minutes was also insufficient cook time... at 15 minutes, the pieces that were dinner-roll size were fine, but the bun-size were fairly anemic looking and doughy in the middle. I think the recipe needs to be adjusted slightly for cook time and hotter oven temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
First time making buns, Even with a bit of a mess up on the rising(totally my fault) they still turned out just awesome! Can't wait to have with our meal's! I doubled the batch as I wanted some to freeze as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel McMillan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
SO GOOD its just like bread youd buy from a bakery I am going to make this a lot more :) !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Buns

The perfect taste, texture, and appearance for a hamburger bun.

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States