Twenty-Four Hour Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
This is a GREAT summertime salad!! Used red onion for color AND flavor!!! Bake a lil corn bread & you re ready to go!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AGGIEMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Temple, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Fabulous...no complaints from my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Excellent! Have had a similar version at family get togethers for years. That recipe instructs you to mix the sugar and mayo together first which causes the dressing to run through overnight. I found I liked this much better because the delicious leftover salad could be enjoyed a day or two later without being soggy but was still delicious if not even more so. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsJ2b

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
I didn't know what to expect from this but I'm sure glad I made it! Skipped the peas, added egg and some green onion. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
I have enjoyed this salad many times with great reviews.....however I find it best to mix Sugar into the Mayonnaise before spreading on top the peas , in lieu of sprinkling on top the mayonnaise. This helps distribute the sugar more evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Followed the recipe exactly. It was good enough, but I had a hard time thinking of it as a salad. Felt like I was eating a wrap without the pita. I doubt I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Char

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
I was totally not impressed with this recipe at all. I made it as written and was very underwhelmed. Nothing stood out and the sweet mayonnaise was just weird. Husband thought it was "ok" which is why I gave it two stars as opposed to one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by torianne31

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harlem, Georgia, USA
Living In: Willow Spring, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I left out green pepper and celery and added hard boiled egg to the top. Also doubled mayo and added 2 T. Dill. mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
I have used Romaine lettuce which is great if you are serving it the next day but does not really work as well as Iceberg lettuce especially if you want leftovers. Red or green bell peppers work well. Red onions are more tasty than the white. Do not thaw the peas. Just rinse them under hot water. The frozen peas keeps the salad cool and makes it easier to spread the dressing on top. MAYO: MAYO is of course delicious but very high calorie! 100% Miracle Whip does not taste great with this salad. Kraft MAYO with Olive Oil is a great substitute. I prefer to substitute the white sugar with splenda. Add a little bit of FF Skim Milk to thin out the dressing which makes it easier to spread. Use leftover bacon vs. canned bacon bits. If you put the bacon under the mayo, the bacon will soften otherwise, it looks great on top of the cheese. We have added sliced hard boiled eggs to the top of the salad for decoration and also added chopped hard boiled eggs as a layer both work well and add more protein to the dish. I love that you can make this recipe a day before and let it sit overnight. My Grandma would be proud that I still make this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Awesome recipe. I added garlic cheese croutons just before serving and the salad was terrific. I received so many compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Seven-Layer Salad

This is a salad your guests will enjoy seeing just as much as eating.

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States