Tuxedo Brownie Hug Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
I made these yesterday for a cookie exchange. I followed the directions exactly, except I used confectioners sugar instead of flour for the "grease and flour the cookie sheet." The first pan, with 7 mins 30 seconds of cooking had spread out so much, I reduced baking time to 6 mins 30 seconds. I liked the idea of the Hugs being flat, but even with additional oven time to melt, they still had a peak. Overall, they looked unappealing and didn't taste very sweet. also, the Hugs, after melting a bit, didn't harden back up, so one couldn't stack them for transportation - hard to travel with 60 cookies all laying flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TrophyWife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vienna, Virginia, USA
Living In: Leavenworth, Kansas, USA
Photo by Alison B
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
Major crowd pleaser! Have made these three years in a row. Yes the hugs melt quickly, but I decided that I don't really care for having them retain their shape anyway. I put the hug on and once it's melty-looking, tap the cookie sheet on the counter so they collapse and you are left with a flat, striped design. I will submit of photo of this so hopefully people can see what I mean. And yes you have to watch the baking time with these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
these were great, instead of a "hug" I used cherry cordial kisses by hershey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2004
This is a favorite of our children. My son made these for his 4H group and everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2003
Alright....after reading all the reviews I went ahead and made this...It's pretty good and tasty, but I decided to impart some helpful hints...1) DO NOT over-bake these. They will become hard flying saucers or something out of a spy movie, 2) Wait 2 full minutes before you put the hugs in, otherwise they will get way too melty. If you wait longer than 2 minutes, the cookies get too hard, 3) I personally used silpat silicon liners on my cookie sheets, worked FABULOUSLY 4) Here's the deal with the hugs being so melty...it must be that the white chocolate has a lower melting temp. I had a few extra kisses and used them and they were not nearly as melty as the hugs 5) Keep the cookie HORIZONTAL when transferring it to the cooling rack. If you put it on a slight angle, the hug will get runny!!! 6) I made the cookies for a party tonight and they won't set in time for transporting them, so I put them in the fridge after they'd cooled so they would firm up. Seems not only does the hug melt quicker, takes longer to harden. 7) They will be flat. No way around that. Be sure to only make them 1 tsp though, helps keep the edges from spreading and getting too crisp Over all, great cookies. Hubby came home and I shoved one in his mouth and he grunted for a full 2 minutes before he told me that he thought it was incredible and then tried to attack the rest. It's a keeper, but with the former ground rules in place. ENJOY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
Of all the cookies that I made during my Thanksgiving break, my Dad loved these the best. He kept digging through the cookie tin to find these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
I made these last year & I already have requests for the recipe for this holiday season. But be sure not to overcook these. They are best when soft & chewy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
I made these cookies for my nieces wedding and they were a big hit. I don't know why some cooks had trouble with this recipe. I had no trouble and I let the hug set in the center of the cookie for 1 hour in the refrigerator. I would make these cookies again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hopewell, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2002
I don't understand how so many people could have had disasters with this recipe. It was delish, and it was very appealing to the eye. I brought them to a church dinner today and everyone raved. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2002
Everyone loved these at Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States