Tuscan Style Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
I was afraid that this soup would be bland, after reading some of the reviews so I made a few changes: I tripled the garlic(!), used 1 can of red kidney beans and 1 can of cannelini beans, as well as 1 can of chopped tomatoes; added 1/4 cup of red wine; used 4 cups chicken broth (instead of 3); added 1 tsp garlic salt, 2 tsp salt, 1 tsp cayenne pepper, 1 tsp crushed red pepper flakes. It was not a bad soup, but still maybe a little on the bland side. I might try this again with some Italian sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
My husband liked this soup and that's saying something since there's no meat in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
This is a good base soup but it lacks body and is bland, even with the addition of the fresh herb thyme. In order to give it some heft, I also added garlic powder, a little salt (although I understand this is a low sodium dish) and plenty of pepper. In the future, I would sauté this vegetables in tomato paste to add some flavor to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
amazing made without psta for a healthier meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I loved this recipe. I added celery instead of red pepper. Perfect recipe for a cold snowy night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
It tastes just fine but it just wasn't for us. Probably a really great base recipe that needs something more. I wouldn't try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenmomof2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
I thought this tasted really bland. The only changes I made was using egg noodles and using dried thyme to taste. I was able to give it a little more flavor by adding a tad of garlic salt and some grated parmesan cheese to my bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Absolutely loved this soup...my husband isn't big on soups, but he loved this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Very easy and tasty. I made a few substitutions: veggie broth for chicken broth, red beans for kidney beans, ground thyme for fresh, egg noodles for shell pasta. I also added a couple teaspoons of salt, a few shakes of italian seasoning, the liquid from my canned tomatoes and two cups of water because there was hardly any liquid left after I added the noodles. My husband and kids wouldn't eat it because they have something against beans, but I shared it with my dad and step-mom and they both said it was very good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
very good n healthy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States