Tuscan Style Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
I am not normally a bean soup person, my family is, but not me. Well....this smelled and looked so good when I was makikng it that I had to try some. What a nice recipe! It is wonderful and healthy and great tasting. I cheated and used canned, drained kidney beans but otherwise followed everything to a T!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
I loved this soup. I agree with the author that this soup is all one needs for a filling (and healthy) meal. I did skip the spinach. Along with other ingredients already listed, I actually added a few additional things to it to make it a little heartier. I used 2 cans of diced tomatoes to make preparation easier, some green beans, 3 cups of shell pasta (instead of 1), green pepper and green onion, some diced chicken breast, and italian seasoning. Instead of using the suggested canned chicken broth, I used approximately 5 cups of chicken broth. I followed others' suggestions and simmered it for about 30-45 minutes. Even my husband who is not normally a big fan of soups thought this was a good recipe. This is an easy to follow recipe with simple ingredients and preparation, and it's good for stretching the grocery budget a little farther.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
What a nice hearty soup. I did add full pkg's and cans of ingredients: 3 cans chix broth, 1 can kidney beans, 1 can diced tomatores, 1 pkg of frozen spinach and 1 1/2c pasta. The soup was wonderful and the boyfriend who stopped by unexpectedly enjoyed it to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malden, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
Very flavorful soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: West Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
Wonderful! Taking "creative license", I added some chicken italian sausage, zucchini and a few hot pepper flakes. This created the need for more liquid so I doubled the broth. This has become a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
3 out of 4 of my kids loved this soup. It was very easy to make, yet tasty and classy. Thanks for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
A big hit with the entire family. My husband rated it a definite "keeper." Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
Super tasty and healthy! I didn't have time to soak the beans so I used a can of kidney beans, so that (unfortunately) added some sodium. Also added extra pasta shells. Very hearty and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
This recipe has become a staple for my lunches. I double the recipe and freeze individual portions to take to work for lunch everyday. It freezes well and tastes just as good when reheated. I ususally add alot more thyme then it calls for - usually 10-12 stripped sprigs. I find it adds a really nice flavour to the soup base. Also, I add the liquid from the canned tomatoes to thicken the broth and add some colour. I usually add equal parts of both red and green pepper, alot of garlic, and I use canned kidney beans instead of uncooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
I made this recipe for the first time at work for my co-workers, 8 of us. I made a double recipe and there were no leftovers. I was a little nervous about trying it out like that, but they all agreed that it is a keeper! I used low sodium chicken broth, so we could have plenty of grated cheese with it. I also substituted cannelini beans for the kidney beans and escarole for the spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debbakes56

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gowanda, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States