Tuscan Style Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
This soup is absolutly delicious. I didn't change a thing except I used my own homemade chicken broth. It was wonderful. Even my meat eating husband liked itl. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
This soup was SO very delicious, simple to make and it's so healthy as well. After I added the pasta (I used tubetti) I thought it could use more liquid so I added some beef broth as well and it made it a little darker and heartier. It's very satisfying without being too heavy. I may try canellini beans next time and maybe use fresh rosemary instead of the thyme. Lots of ways to tailor it to your own taste. It would be really good with some crumbled sausage (turkey, of course!) and make an even heartier soup/stew. I strongly recommend this recipe now that the weather is getting cooler and we need some comfort foods that are really good for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
This soup was WAY more delicious than I had anticipated! I've been eating it for days and am not tired of it! I couldn't tell whether that pasta was supposed to be cooked before adding to soup mixture since they said to add it and serve in 5 minutes. I used tubetti and did cook it first, then just let the soup simmer. FABULOUS with shredded fresh parmesan and hot sauce!! I will definitely make this one again...super easy, yummy and so healthy. I used Trader Joe's frozen chopped spinach; just threw the whole bag in - how easy is that?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
Delicious!!! My only changes were to use white beans instead of kidney beans which I don't like and added some zucchini. I love it and make a double batch so we have plenty of leftovers. I serve it with some crusty french bread and it's a filling meal which is a favorite in my house. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
This soup was very pretty but was lacking in flavor on its own. I only made minor alterations (vegetable stock instead of chicken, since I'm veg, and ditalini instead of sea shell pasta.) If I make this again, it will have more garlic, more thyme (maybe dried would work better in this case?), more spinach and less pasta. Also, I had to add another cup of stock otherwise it would have been thick stew instead of soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EuroGirl6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgeway, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEZIREE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
This was a good base soup to start with but was a little bland. I used green pepper instead of red (didn't have) and ditalini instead of sea shell. I added dash of cayenne pepper, crushed italian seasonings and some cooked sausage. Next time I will try fresh spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
Doubled the recipe except for the pasta. Measured everything except the tomatoes (used two cans stewed) and the spinach (used one ten-ounce box). Might be good without the pasta. Had way too much for me. I added one carton of beef broth and one fifteen-ounce can of tomato sauce. OK, but I probably won't make again. If I did, I would add carrots and not add pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
My toddler says this is yummy and the rest of the family seems to agree. I used green pepper instead of red and was out of onion. I also reduced the liquid content and served with cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Claremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
What a simple, delicious recipe! I was generous with the fresh thyme, and the soup did not last very long in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States