Tuscan Style Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
A great tasting soup. Everyone that tried it liked it! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Good! I have made it a few times it always pleases. I have made it with kidney bean and also with pinto beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
Made this soup to freeze for when my sister-in-law who is a diabetic comes to visit. My husband was the taster and he said this is great it is a keeper. I added 1 cup clamato juice. I brought the broth to a boil and cooked the pasta for 10 minutes, turned down and added the spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ivesdale, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
All I can say is Yum! This dish has a very pleasing presentation and is so good. Not to mention it is on the healthier side of eating! Great recipe. A keeper that I will be making over and over. As someone else mentioned, this is a great lunch option for my busy schedule. I freeze small containers worth and take with me to reheat. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
Very Easy and Very Good. I will make it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rmolledo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Soups in general, and Italian soups in particular, traditionally were made in the frugal "peasant" style, using odds and ends of what home cooks had at hand so as not to waste anything. This soup also lends itself to that tradition. I used this recipe as a starting point and got creative as I went along, using what I had at hand in the pantry and freezer. I made my own stock, using beef and chicken bones with good bits of meat attached, that I had collected in the freezer. I also browned up some Italian sausage, casings removed, before sauteeing onions, celery, the red bell pepper and garlic - the sausage added great flavor! I used tomatoes I had frozen from my garden, a good glug of red wine and added some chopped zucchini with the pasta. Rather than fresh thyme I threw in a good Tuscan seasoning blend, along with salt and pepper to taste. I used canned cannelini beans (white kidney beans) for the beans called for, adding them at the last with the fresh, chopped spinach. This soup was so delicious, so rich, hearty and satisfying, that I was sorry I was full because I wanted another bowl! The aroma alone is enough to make you salivate and after weeks of travel and eating restaurant food this was just the sort of home cooked comfort food I needed. In true Italian style, don't forget to serve with freshly grated Parmesan or Romano cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
I decided to make this on the spur of the moment. I didn't have the thyme, so I used dried savory instead, and I threw in a little dried basil, too. No chicken broth, so I used a beef stock base, and 3 kidney bean cans of water. I omitted the pepper because I was saving that for something else. No shell or elbow pasta, so I used low cal, high fiber short cut fettucine. ( 2 cups) I added half a bag of frozen organic leaf spinach ( the closest to fresh and much easier to use). The result was a delicious lunch! It came out great. I packaged up the rest in individual plastic containers for a few fast and nutritious, low calorie, high fiber meals. This soup will become one of my staples. It has plenty of things I love: spinach, beans, tomatoes, and pasta. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
This was really close to the olive garden minestrone soup. Made extra and froze it for later use. Tasty and light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corrina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kyle, Texas, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Very good, I was looking for a good recipe to cheer-up a friend. I had all these ingredients. Simple to make and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
So much flavor and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATIEW22
Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Sendai, Miyagi, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States