Tuscan Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
I made this in the crockpot and it turned out well. I took the suggestions of others; it tasted really good and my husband really liked it- and he is really picky about how food tastes. I cooked the turkey sausage and onions in a pan then put them in the crock pot; I added the following: garlic, cannellini beans, petite diced tomatoes, sweet turkey sausage (I would use spicy instead of sweet next time),fresh grated parmesan cheese which I added at the beginning of cooking and some when I served it. I think it would have tasted just as good without the half and half or evaporated milk. Also be sure to put the spinach in in the last half hour-I put mine in with the rest of the ingredients and the spinach was a little mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
268 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
This was okay. I pretty much followed the recipe and I felt like it was missing something. Next time, I WILL use spicy sausage and add white beans. I think it would also benefit from some fresh basil and parsley. It smelled wonderful, and I served it with a caesar salad and garlic rolls. Oh, by the way, since sausage links are sold mostly in packages of 5, just throw them all in and use 8 cups of broth instead of 6. It works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2002
This soup made a great meal. To make it lower in fat, I used turkey sausage and 98% fat free chicken broth. I also used frozen chopped spinach. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
Couple tips: No need to fry the sausage meat in a frying pan first. Saute it in a stock pot (Le Creuset dutch oven pots work great for this dish) and then add the rest of the ingredients in the same pot. Also, I don't use any milk or cream and it makes a ice "brothy" soup. I have made this many times and it always comes out great. You can vary the amount of any of the ingredients to your taste and it still tastes terrific. For a change of pace, substitute 2 cups of cooked rice into the soup instead of the potatoes. I like to use a mix of white and wild rice when I do this, but any rice would work well. Thanks for a great-tasting, quick, and easy recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2005
I love this soup, I used to have to go to Olive Garden every time I wanted this soup, now I make it at home all of the time. Sometimes I use kale instead of spinach, and I usually add some Oscar Meyer bacon bits. Also, I use spicy turkey italian sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMUCKEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spencer, Iowa, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
Very tasty soup- a nice variation from the types of soup I usually make. Based on other reviewers suggestions, I used spicy turkey sausage instead of pork to save on calories and fat. I personally didn't feel it affected the taste at all, but my husband would have liked to try it with the "real sausage". I drained my sausage well after browning. I added some minced garlic in when I browned the sausage. I took the sausage/garlic and put it in my crockpot along with a package of Simply Potatoes diced potatoes with onions, the broth and a can of petite diced tomatoes. After it cooked for a few hours on high, I added in a can of drained cannellini beans and a package of baby spinach. I let that cook for another hour or so and then added in half and half instead of the evaporated milk just before serving. I think I will let the potatoes cook a little longer in the crockpot next time. They were not quite as tender as I would prefer, but overall, I was very impressed with this dish. I am planning to take it to a soup and salad social that I am attending next week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicopee, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Windsor, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
My family -- extended family included -- absolutely loves this recipe. Starting with this recipe I was able to convince my wife that spinach, when prepared well, can be quite exquisite. My father continues to dislike spinach; but he craves this recipe...so I always have to make large batches to share with my mother and father. It freezes very well, by the way. The original recipes calls for odd measurements such as "three Italian sausages" and "1/4 cup of evaporated milk." Sausages aren't normally sold in thrice, and what do you do with the other portion of the evaporated milk can once you've measured out the measly 1/4 cup? Therefore, it helps to bump-up the serving size to fit the number of sausages commonly sold in a package (5 or 7, depending); I've also noticed that it only enriches the taste of the soup if you use a whole can of evaporated milk, too. All in all, a fantastic recipe to use again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
This soup was easy and delicious. Based on other Italian style soups I have made, I felt compelled to add the rind of a piece of aged parmesan cheese during cooking which enhanced the flavor of the broth, then served the soup with addition freshly grated parmesan. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
Wow. Wow. Wow. What an easy recipe with such a sophistacted taste! My husband and I loved this. Cannot wait to make it for company. I also think it would be a terrific fall or cold weather dish. Used mild Italian sausage and five pieces total. Had two cans of chicken broth (reduced sodium) so I just added a can of water and two bouillon cubes. Can't wait to see what this is going to taste like tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2002
My husband likes large dinner meals in which soup is just a course. I served this with a salad and it was very satisfying. Between every mouthful, my husband stopped to tell me how wonderful this was. I didn't have hot sausage so I added crushed red pepper and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 631) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States