Tuscan Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
So savory and delicious, flavors work so well together. I had a bunch leftover so i froze it and ate again on a later date. The spices were phenomenal both fresh and frozen! My husband and i are big soup eaters and this will be in my cooking book for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
I've been using this recipe for about 8 years. The recipe as written is just fine, but also very forgiving if you decide to make adjustments. Optional suggestions: mild Italian sausage instead of spicy, kale instead of spinach, use could double the amount of Italian sausage all together, drop in the rind of parmigiano reggiano, and/or garnish with fresh chopped parsley. This is an awesome recipe as is, and I know it's a recipe that my daughters will one day make for their future families too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachanee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
one of our family favorites, easy to make and very light and tasty. We use hot Italian sausage. If you rinse off the fat, it has less calories but also less zip, cause you rinse off some spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
very savory
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Delicious. Made a few modifications. I cooked the sausage on its own so I could drain the fat from it and sauteed the onion with a few garlic cloves. About 5 minutes before it was done cooking, I added fresh parsley, oregano, basil and 1 can great northern beans. I subbed 2/3 c. cream for the evap. milk. Perfect soup for a cold day. I think that next time I'll use gnocchi instead of potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
this is a really good basis for your own embellishment. i didn't venture too far since it was my first time making it, but i took the advice of another user and added parmesan cheese and cooked it in the crock pot. a whole onion may be a little generous, but i placed half in the broth which i had warming already and half with the sausage in the pan for browning. i think the evaporated milk adds quite a bit, even if it's only in color. this is a very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
This was the winner of a family soup competition
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erin mc

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Very good! It was very salty so I had to add some water to it. I also added garlic and a splash of red wine, and some italian seasonings. Topped with parmsean cheese shavings. Served with garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wifeymaterial

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I did slightly modify... Ingredient modification: Tblspn of olive oil, 1 cup chopped onion, carrot, and celery, ½ pound of uncooked spicy Italian sausage, ½ pound of uncooked mild Italian sausage, 1 bunch fresh Swiss Chard, 4 cups quartered small fingerling potatoes, ¼ cup of half & half, 1tbl chopped garlic, Salt and pepper to taste. Cooking Modification: I used my pressure cooker. It has a browning cycle to brown onion, carrots & celery in olive oil for apx. 5-7 minutes. Add skinned, coarsely chopped Italian sausages and cook over medium heat until meat is no longer pink. Stir in chopped chard and sauté till meat is browned and chard wilted. Add 4 cups of potatoes and chicken broth. After adding the chicken stock, I pressure cooked the soup for fifteen minutes. I allow the soup to set for 10 minutes before releasing the pressure. I then added my half & half salt, pepper and garlic and allowed soup to mellow for five minutes. Serve with Grated Parmesan or Reggiano cheese…enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by becca4band

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Doubled the recipe, used red potates (skin on and sliced) and half and half. Took others suggestons and drained the sausage after browning. Added some oregano, a couple of palm fulls of grated cheese and used baby spinach. Def was yummy but feel it can be better, a little more tasteful. Will add chopped garlic next time while browing the sausage. All in all a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Seaford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 649) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Kale Soup

Spicy sausage and hot peppers star in this hearty vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States