Tuscan Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
It was fine, but it's the first time I've tried an Allrecipes with 4 1/2 stars that wasn't really good. It was quite bland. I even added mushrooms, beans, and zucchini, but the flavor just isn't deep at all. Looking back at the photo I guess that's what it looks like but there aren't any spices added. I thought the spicy sausage would give it depth, but it didn't. I recommend that if you have to try this, add 1/2 and 1/2 at the end, instead of adding evap. milk, and add garlic and spices like thyme or basil or ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coronado, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
So easy and so good. I used kale instead of spinach and lean turkey sausage, I cant wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Stork McCraw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jay, New York, USA
Living In: Madison Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Loved it. Added carrots, cannellini beans, and diced tomatoes. Served with Parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
This is one of the best tasting soups that I ever made! I followed the recipe for the most part except I had no spicy sausage on hand. I used 4 patties of Jimmy Dean turkey sausage instead and cut those up and browned them a bit in the pan with the onion and I added a clove of garlic with that, too. I used fat free low sodium chicken broth. I didn't need to add any spices at all, not salt, not even the black pepper. I used a whole bag of Ready Pac baby spinach and chopped that up. I also didn't have any large potatoes so I used a half bag of the small yellow dutch potatoes (skin on) and quartered those. They worked out perfectly b/c they are naturally creamy and they cooked quickly. I wasn't sure about the milk at first, but it doesn't make it creamy, just richer and more substantial. The soup was absolutely delicious! I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Figs5

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I prefer this with kale so the greens stay crunchier, but YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
worth making. My Grandmother makes it with Gnocchi instead of potatoes and my husband makes his own Gnocchi. This is a delicious soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
This soup was excellent! We couldn't stop eating it! I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Wonderful! Taste just like olive gardens. Did not have chicken stock so used bouillon cubes. Also used the full can of evaporated milk. On the sausage bought a pound of ground Italian sausage. Hubby stated he hates Italian sausage yet he liked it, alot! Will make again. Thanks for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Jesup, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Delish! I used a little more bulk Italian sausage and chicken broth. I also added a little lemon juice, which added loads of flavor! The hubby really liked this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Only had regular sausage and it definitely needed the spice. Even with added garlic, red pepper flakes and some cayenne this was bland albeit perfect for my aunt and uncle in their mid-70's. I probably won't try this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 650) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Kale Soup

Spicy sausage and hot peppers star in this hearty vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States