Tuscan Sausage Ragu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I substituted two pounds of Italian-style ground turkey for the sausage and fat-free half-and-half for the cream. It was so good and full of flavor that we didn't miss the full-fat ingredients at all. It was a hit all around. Can't wait for leftovers tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Brilliant! I didn't change a thing and it was so good. Even my 10 month old son loved eating it. Although I added extra veggies for him after the fact. This is a keeper, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I'm sure this would be a great recipe, although I used this as base and made alot of alterations to mine..Probably going to post my version online :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
Oh man. This recipe is awesome. I did my best to make it EXACTLY as stated, but we don't have red wine, so I used a bit of water for that part. I let this sit in the crock pot all day and it was AMAZING. I only made it last week and I want to have it again. I'm not sure what about it was so special - I'm guessing the sausage as I've never used it in a pasta sauce. Just mouth watering. Edit: Just realized I lied on accident, I used 2% milk rather than heavy cream and it was still amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThrenJen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
This is now our go-to recipe when we want a red pasta sauce. Make it with the celery! I too would normally add a green bell pepper to a pasta sauce, but I think it's the celery that makes this work so well. The cream really puts this one over the top, but it's delicious even without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Very good and it's like a chili w/ a twist :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Absolutely awesome. I did leave out the celery. I just didn't think it went with the recipe. Served it with penne pasta and garlic bread and everyone ate happily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
My husband and I love this recipe! I do agree that I add oregano and basil to it, but that's just personal choice. I also chop my tomatoes fresh. I do cook it on the stove and not a crock pot, but it still comes out amazing every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
This is the perfect recipe. Easy enough to put together, few pots and pans, not too many ingredients, and just tastes fantastic. Within a few days of making it I can't wait to make it again. To finish it off I add cooked rigatoni and some of the sauce to a saute pan and heat for a few minutes. Some of the sauce is incorporated into the pasta that way, and it thickens the sauce too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salinas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
This recipe is simply brilliant on a number of levels. I made it exactly as written...questioned why it needed to slow cook since everything WAS cooked before it went into the slow cooker for 5 hours...the taste difference from the start to the finish was incredible...mellowed out considerably. But when you add the cream at the end...oh my. I could really get hooked on this recipe...going to double the batch next time so we have plenty to freeze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mintconditionherbfarm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Sausage Ragu

Watch how to make a super easy, unbelievably delicious pasta sauce.

Chicken and Sausage with Bowties

See how to make a hearty pasta sauce with turkey sausage and chicken.

Chef John's Sausage and Egg Pizza

A spicy pizza topped with hot Italian sausage, eggs, and arugula.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States